Murray’s Cheese

Today, I received exciting news!  A reader commented on a long ago blog post about my troubles with Cold Eeze lozenges and included that she…“Was DELIGHTED to see Murray’s Cheese Shoppe in NYC’s West Village is now carrying your cheese – congrats!”

Wow!  That’s awesome!  In my mind, Murray’s Cheese carrying my cheese would be the ULTIMATE COMPLIMENT!!  Murray’s Cheese in New York City!  It’s an iconic cheese shop!  It’s the stuff cheese legends are made of!  It’s where I would feel like “I’ve Made It” if they carried my cheese!

So, to receive the news that they ARE carrying my cheese was quite surprising.

Why?  Well, The Goat Cheese Lady Creamery isn’t even built yet, and I don’t sell any cheese yet!

002

We’re working on the foundation!

Therefore, I made my first ever call to New York City.  NYC.  The Big Apple.  Matt Lauer’s stomping grounds (yep, still want to be on The Today Show with Matt, just awaiting the call).  I dialed 1-212-243-3289 – Murray’s Cheese.  I have never been to New York City, I have never called New York City, and I have never called Murray’s Cheese.  Until today.

I explained to the man who answered that I am The Goat Cheese Lady and we are building The Goat Cheese Lady Creamery and that it’s not finished yet but we are planning to be open in the Spring and one of my blog readers was thrilled to find my cheese there and were they selling any cheese made by The Goat Cheese Lady?

No, Adam said, they aren’t.  Phew.  Mystery solved.   I’m not sure what she saw, but it wasn’t mine or anyone else’s going by The Goat Cheese Lady (which was my immediate concern and caused me to think I need to trademark my name?…I’ll take some advice, please!)

But that led to my next question…would they consider it when we’re open?  I mean, we’re going to be a tiny farmstead artisan goat cheese creamery and I would have enough cheese to supply his famous store for about a minute, but do they ever feature small creameries?

Drum roll please…

He said, YES!

I’ll keep you posted on that and will most likely combine my stint of cheese sales at Murray’s Cheese during the same trip where I sit on The Today Show with Matt.

– The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Murray’s Cheese

  1. florasforum says:

    Looks promising! Good luck & congratulations on the Today Show!

  2. Cousin Ann says:

    Good deal Lindsay. How wonderful that will be and I’ll watch for you on the Today show.

  3. Jeannie McGuire says:

    Hey it’s me over here in NYC (suburbs now) who told you about your cheese “Arriving at Murray’s in the West Village.” I did a search on the Murray’s Cheese shop website, [Goat Lady] and YES – two cheeses from “The Goat Lady Dairy” came up: http://www.murrayscheese.com/search?keywords=Goat%20Lady
    Now you want to call your brand the “Goat Cheese Lady Creamery”? As a marketing expert, that’s a bit too similar. Perhaps the fact that you’ve had this blog (national) and you’ve maintained a business with this name for numerous years will allow you to assert rights to “The Goat Lady” too. Let’s face it, “The Goat Cheese Lady” is far more attractive than simply, “The Goat Lady”
    But as to your question, “But that led to my next question…would they consider it when we’re open?” YOU MUST TRY! This is New York City – psychotherapy is big here because we need help to understand why we volunteer to live with obscene housing costs and crowds everywhere. One of the key reasons we do is because New Yorkers have wonderful, invaluable spirit of invincibility. We love it here because if you fail – in a city this size, no one will really pay much attention. You can therefore easily brush yourself off and TRY AGAIN. If you get into Murray’s – they’re rolling out a national presence, so you can grow with them. Specifically, regional supermarkets are contracting with Murray’s to run the cheese department in their stores. But first straighten out the brand name situation. Good luck! And as always, bon appetite!

    • Jeannie, Your comment about seeing my cheese at Murray’s has definitely spurred me into trademark action! I just checked the link you included and The Goat Lady Dairy’s cheeses look wonderful, and congratulations to her for being in Murray’s! I’ll be working on the trademark and looking forward to the day that my cheeses are at Murray’s too! As far as New Yorker’s need for psychotherapy, I love your description. I can’t wait to visit…hopefully this year (I have it on my 2017 Dream List and my husband has family and friends there). I’ll keep you updated on the trademark situation, and I appreciate so much that you’re looking out for me! Lindsey

  4. Mom says:

    I must have stopped reading when the man at Murray’s Cheese said “Yes”. At second glance I realize that, of course, Matt Lauer is in your future.

  5. Mom says:

    Very interesting! Murray’s … watch out… here comes the Goat Cheese Lady!!

  6. Renee says:

    YES! You deserve that kind of venue. You deserve The Today Show. Please, please, please trademark your name.

  7. Jann says:

    Get that trademark done

Leave a Reply

