Maybe I’ll write a book.

It’s dangerous cutting onions.

016

Which is what I was doing just before calling my sister.

We were both cooking dinner.

I told her I’ve been thinking about (for 6 years) writing a book.  I think about it every winter when things slow down and there is time to contemplate such projects.

I told her that when researching writing a book a few weeks ago, I looked at the Chelsea Green Publishing website and read their requirements for submitting a potential book.  The two points that stuck in my mind were (in my reworded nutshell):

1. Why is your book different than all the others out there?

2. What’s so special about you?

I told her that I asked an honest friend, What’s so special about me?  Would someone want to read a book I write?  My friend said I’m an inspiration.  Then someone on Facebook said the same thing.  Is that a reason to write a book?

Then I told her that I spent the afternoon reading old posts, mostly from the first year (2010) of my blog.  You should grab a coffee and do that too.  Some are pretty funny.

So, pretty much, that’s where I am.  Should I? or Shouldn’t I?

– The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Growing up, the closest thing I had to farm animals were a cat and a cockatiel. In 2009, Herbert (my husband) and I bought our first milk goat and I instantly became an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life..before I knew “urban homesteading” was a thing. That’s when we began The Goat Cheese Lady Farm, hence The Goat Cheese Lady blog you’re visiting now. After moving to the country in 2014, I embarked on life as a rural farmgirl. We continued teaching farm and cheesemaking classes, raising more goats and began construction on our cheese creamery. But life had other plans and in 2017, we decided that, due to financial and health issues, we had to close the farm for business. No more classes, no more creamery, a lot less milking. We went back to off farm jobs, I as an Occupational Therapist, Herbert in construction with his business, D&A Home Remodeling. At that point, I made a silent promise to myself that I would corral my entrepreneurial mind and focus on a job for a year. Well, it has been a year and I am back. Not to classes, cheese, soap or lotion, but back to writing. I love it. I’m not sure where it will lead me, but that’s where I’m starting. I’ll continue to write as The Goat Cheese Lady for now, and whatever the future holds, I’ll let you know. Our two boys are 14 and 11 and continue to be louder than my sister and I ever were. We have two dogs, Montaña and Flash, a cat, Jumpy, a flock of chickens and three goats. Yes, we still have Lucy, the goat who helped us start it all and was milked by over 1,000 people. She’s retired but still the boss. Chocolate provides enough milk for our family with some to spare for the dogs. Soccer friends, school friends, coyotes and mice are frequent visitors. There are way too many flies and every so often we see an owl. I’m glad you’re here. Sometimes you’ll laugh out loud, other times you’ll be inspired to appreciate the small things. My hope is that, over your morning cup of coffee or your afternoon work break, you’ll enjoy the antics and inspiration that are my daily life. Lindsey
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Opinion. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Maybe I’ll write a book.

  1. Guess what! 2 years after posting this in 2016…I’m halfway through writing my book! Thanks for all of your support everyone!!! Lindsey

  2. Cindy Winter says:

    Yes! You should write a book! I love reading your blog! I was so bummed when life got in the way and you quit for year or 3. I missed it! And have been happy to see you coming back and giving it another go, even if it might not be as frequently as before.
    You inspire people, you educate people and you have a hilarious way of relating your experiences. So yeah, you are different than other people who write books! Who else writes about peeing their pants while at a meeting??? LMAO Oh the memories… now I want to go read all those old blogs again!

    • Yikes Cindy! I just realized my inital response to your comment never went through!! And, now, I’m cracking up! The only blog I ever semi-regret posting was the peeing my pants at a meeting one…a little TMI…so now, I’m cracking up again! I really appreciate your kind words and support of me continuing to write. Sometimes…life gets in the way, but so does my own thinking that people won’t miss if it if I don’t write. Thanks for reminding me you do. Lindsey

  3. Debie says:

    You should absolutely write a book. You are so funny. Even when things get crazy, you have a humorous perspective. You’ve already got a great start with your blog. Use it!

  4. marianne flenniken says:

    of course you should!

  5. Steve Scherb says:

    Yes you should i like reading your emails i liked the one about meeting the bee keeper at the exit and the one where you killed the snake there is so many more stories about the canal and all the wildflowers seeds the rich soil you had brought to your garden so yes write the book oh and i have the bell that i bought from your yard sale its hanging in a tree at my parents house

  6. Shopper says:

    Well, you inspired me. I have more soap than I know what to do with. In addition we just bought five acres in Chino Valley, Arizona. We will be near aging and ailing parents. The best part is that I can have gobs of chickens, goats, and other animals. I have no clue where to start, but we’ll figure it out.

    I may have to go through and read your old blogs to help. A book would be inspiring.

    Renee

    >

  7. Linnea Bjorkman says:

    Put me on the list to get an advance copy, please!

  8. Jen Dionisio says:

    Do It!!!!!!

  9. Susan Frazee says:

    Go for it. Why not write your story!

Leave a comment