Thank you! We made it! (and 10% off)

Around August 1st, I started selling $100 Boxes of my farm-made goat milk soaps, lotions and lip balms with the goal of selling 130 to make the $13,000 necessary to to pay for the cement foundation of The Goat Cheese Lady Creamery.  I went to Farmer’s Markets at the Penrose Community Library and Ranch Foods Direct, posted on Facebook and Twitter, sold my wares at the Colorado Springs Senior Center Craft Fair and at our little town’s annual Apple Day Festival, spent an evening at Tailored West in Canon City for First Friday, sent emails and told my story to anyone who would listen.  The first person to buy a $100 Box was Norma at the Ranch Foods Direct Friday Farmer’s Market, a kind woman I had never met before.

People I know, people I don’t know, businesses and non-profits all bought $100 Boxes with plans to use the lotions, soaps and lip balms as hostess gifts, Christmas gifts, employee and volunteer gifts, products to sell in their stores, teachers gifts, donations, stocking stuffers and to keep some for themselves.

People even made $100 donations…”no box necessary,” said one anonymous note. One of my college friend’s mom sent $50.

A woman I had just met at the library made copies of my $100 Box Story and gave it to all of her friends.  Another woman passed out my story at Bingo.

My mom provided free labor every week, labeling lotions, soaps and lip balms, packing boxes and bringing lunch.

Telling my story opened up doors to new referrals for pouring the foundation and opportunities to get new bids.  Just two nights ago, we signed a contract with a man who will bring his team…weather permitting…THIS SATURDAY to break ground on the foundation!!!

040

Thanks to everyone who had any part of this chapter in my dream of building The Goat Cheese Lady Creamery.  Because of you, I blew past my goal and sold 147 boxes!

Throughout the process, hundreds of people have told me how much they love their goat milk soap, lotion and lip balm, so I’ve decided to keep the online store open.  You can still buy $100 Boxes or you can buy individual soaps, lotions or lip balms until we run out.  All of the money will go toward sustaining our family, our farm and building The Goat Cheese Lady Creamery.  We also have gift certificates for The Goat Cheese Making Class and The Kids Class at the store.

For the past 4 months, I have been in awe of people who came out of the woodwork to support our local business and help me realize my dream.  I appreciate you, to the point of tears.  Thank you.

Happy Holidays,

Lindsey

P.S. When you check out at the store, type in the code THANKYOU to get 10% off your order.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you! We made it! (and 10% off)

  1. dogsled1@aol.com says:

    So happy and proud of you. The family has worked so hard to make your dream come true. There is a lot of work to come but now you know how many people are rooting for you. Great job guys

    Jann

Leave a Reply

