Where (Near Colorado Springs) Should We Move?

Any opinions?

013

Mountains?  Plains?  City?  Country?  5 acres?  205 acres?

That’s about how clear we are on the whole thing.  Mostly, we’re not sure.  We’ve had some promising showings on our house, which is still for sale…but nothing’s final till we sign the paperwork at the closing table…so until then, we’re de-cluttering, getting excess ready to sell at a garage sale (we’ll let you know when it is), giving things to Goodwill and looking at properties online.

069 (2)

We’ve been debating…should we both get “real” jobs?  Should we open a creamery like we’ve talked about?  Should we buy land and build a house and barn?  Should we buy land with a house and barn already built?  Should we pitch a tent in a vacant field?

I’m drawn to opening a creamery, but I have to be sure I’m ready for the REAL amount of work entailed.  And, since I already know I’m not, we have to be sure we can make enough money to pay a part time employee so we can actually have some time off.

Yesterday, I talked to two creamery owners…Jim from Hi Plains Dairy in Calhan, Colorado, and Christian at Blue Heron Farm in Field Store, Texas.  Both agree that it is ALOT of work.  Both have a huge demand for their product.  In fact, a couple of days ago, Jim sold out of his skyr in 1 1/2 hours.  We know there is a market for locally made artisan cheeses, and they are difficult to make from a tent pitched in a field.  Hard to comply with regulations that way.  Hmmm.022 (2)

We’ll keep you updated on what we decide, and you can join us on our roller coaster decision making process if you’d like.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Please give us any feedback you’ve got.  Please.  Please.

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, For Sale, Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where (Near Colorado Springs) Should We Move?

  1. Debie says:

    If you want to stay in the area, how about Black Forest? At least 5 acres. Also, lots of places with houses and barns. There’s lots of land for sale there right now, too.

  2. angellatrout says:

    I grew up in Divide and really and enjoyed it. Everytime I go home to visit my parents I never want to leave. I live in southern NM now and it too hot! I have a small farm here snd the  only thing that keeps me here is the fact as a single mom I couldn’t afford the same thing at home. Anyway I’m partial to the area west of Colorado Springs. 

    Angella

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

Leave a Reply

