Here’s How My Food Allergy Diet Is Going…

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.  When life gives you food allergies, suck it up and eat other stuff.

As you know, I found out at the end of July that I can’t eat gluten, almonds, beef, kale, vanilla, cow milk, chicken eggs, green beans, red beans, black beans, butter, whey or mushrooms…some for the next three months, some for the next year and some forever.

But, so what?

I have become accustomed to bringing my own food when going elsewhere to dinner, just in case the cook put Knorr chicken flavored bullion in the food…which…who knew…contains beef fat.  Luckily, I don’t live in Hawaii, so avoiding pineapple has not been at all difficult.  I no longer eat cherry tootsie pops…they contain…whey.  I bake with Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free mixes, using flax meal and water as an egg replacer, replacing butter with olive oil and eliminating the vanilla…Bob has created a pretty incredible brownie mix, and some delicious cornbread.

I’m not a huge fan of the Bob’s Red Mill gluten free “Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix”.  Anything that has to have “wonderful” in the title is trying to mask the fact that it is actually not wonderful.  Unlike a piece of my homemade bread, it’s more like biting into a spongy piece of angel food cake made with garbanzo bean paste and potato flour.  But, it does do the job of holding onto my peanut butter and honey, so for that, I’m thankful.

I have anxiety dreams now though…last night, deep into the REM stage of sleep, I ate a bite of toast loaded with butter, panicked and immediately spit it out.  (toast=gluten, butter=cow dairy).  In previous dreams, I have sunk my teeth into a juicy piece of pineapple, only to be tormented by my dietary mistake.  I have guiltily dream-scolded myself for dream-grabbing a chicken egg to crack into a gluten-free cake mix.

But, the great news is, I have more stable energy than I’ve had in the past 3 or 4 years!  Since starting the diet at the beginning of August, I can go 3 weeks at a time without sleeping during the day!!!  I know, that may not be cause for celebration for many of you, but I used to go only three DAYS at a time…then would become exhausted and know that my next few days would be erased by hours long naps.

Another nice side effect is that my acne prone skin is beginning to clear up!  I had resigned myself that despite the fact I finished my teenage years long ago, my skin had yet to get the memo.  I planned to celebrate my 90th birthday still with the skin of a 15-year-old.   Thanks to either the hormone creams or the cold turkey elimination of foods I’m allergic to, there might be a twinkle of light at the end of the tunnel.

I hope you are well and I’ll talk at you again soon.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Bread Making, Farm Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

