On A Hay Bale Under The Moonlight…

Remember my favorite store?  It’s Eve’s Revolution.  Locally owned, cute clothes, nice people.

About a month ago, I used the last of a gift card from my parents to buy a cream-colored dress off the sale rack.  When I paid for it, Julia, who happened to be working at Eve’s that day, exclaimed:

“You would look SO cute sitting on a HAY BALE under the MOONLIGHT in this dress!”

I laughed at the vision, although grossly unrealistic, of ME.  Sitting on a hay bale under the moonlight.  In a dress.  With a glass of red wine.  And goats frolicking in the green grass surrounding me.

“Do you REALLY think THAT’S what my life is LIKE?”

Julia and I agreed that many people idealize the country life.  What sticks in their minds from movies and books are the barefoot children playing with the darling animals and the woman in the flowing white dress tending to the  prolific garden and the man on his horse riding into the sunset.

Oh.  Wait.  That was actually MY vision before we embarked on this whole endeavor.

Julia then revealed…she’s a photographer. Her company is Tire Swing Photography.  That’s when the whole wear-the-new-dress-for-pictures-on-the-farm idea came to life.

I’ll show you some of her incredible pictures below:  (then I’ll remind you what our life is REALLY like.)

IMG_3532

Yes, my life is always spent barefoot, pondering the sunset with lipstick on.

IMG_3443

I love The Animal Whisperer’s smile.  His whole face lights up.

IMG_3317

My precious (three) boys.  First time we’ve had *real* family pictures.

IMG_3390

I didn’t have time to get the hay bale out, so we perched on the crab apple tree instead.

NOW:

Reality…just in case you aren’t convinced that urban farm life really isn’t this glamorous(although the pictures are stunning)

005

Above is  how I usually dress while working outside in the garden or orchard or with the animals…plus I usually have big black rubber boots on to complete the outfit (see boots below.)

049

And this is my get up for delivering goat kids.

So what do you think?  You wanna be a farmer with me?  Just bring your hay bale and wear your cute dress.  We’ll sit under the moonlight and drink some wine.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks Julia!!!!  We love the pictures!!!

 

 

 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, gardening, goats, good people to know, Kidding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On A Hay Bale Under The Moonlight…

  1. Brandi Woolf says:

    LOVE that dress! You’re a beauty either way, whether it’s in soft ivory or dirty muck boots. 🙂

  2. Elaine Taravella says:

    Thanks for this reminder of how many facets there are to our lives! Beautiful pictures, beautiful family!

  3. Melina says:

    Great pictures. You have a lovely family!

  4. Ann Cott says:

    LOVE THIS Lindsey. And in that last pic of you, you look like your mother. Never noticed that before. . . . Cousin Ann

  5. Trent, Dawn says:

    Beautiful pictures!

Leave a Reply

