It’s My Birthday!!

075

I’m 39!  Not 43 or 52 saying I’m 39.  I really am 39!  Today at 8:19 pm.

Next year I’ll be 40.

I’m OK with that.  Since I’m still 39.

And to celebrate the ending of my 39th year of life and the beginning of my 40th…yes, think about that.  If I’m 39 today, I’ve really been alive 40 years.  But I’m not turning 40 today.  Really, I’m ONLY 39.

Anyway, to celebrate, I have already fit in quite a few things:

1.  Dinner last night with my Mom, Dad, husband, kids, two of my aunts and their partners.  Mom made a delicious dinner and my boys presented me with an ice cream cake with about 10 candles on it…  THAT TOOK ME THREE TRIES TO BLOW OUT.  They weren’t even trick candles.  (As a self-proclaimed hypochondriac, I now think I might have a deadly lung condition.  I’ll need to get that checked out, as I definitely plan to be around for my 40th birthday cake.  I also plan on holding my breath underwater every day this summer to increase my lung capacity so that next year, blowing out 10 candles won’t be such a disaster.)

033

2.  I awoke this morning at 5:30 intent on going on a birthday run.  Which I did, thank you very much.  I usually run around 8, after dropping the kids off at school…but seeing that my day plans to be full of working in the garden and teaching a cheese making class at the Senior Center, I started early.  And WOW, was it worth it!  The scenery was beautiful, I ran 4 miles and took about 37 pictures.  The sunrise on the rocks in The Garden of the Gods was incredible.  So were the wildflowers.

067

3.  Upon arriving home, my three boys surprised me with my favorite Dunkin Donut – an apple fritter…not to be confused with clean eating.  We sat out on the deck and made plans for the summer.  My vote includes a horseback ride… on someone’s horses with someone guiding us…into the mountains to pick some kind of wild food.  Chokecherries, strawberries, raspberries, mushrooms…whatever.

058

4.  My sister and her girls called to sing me a version of Happy Birthday that included funky chickens, smelly feet and juice boxes.

038

5.  My mom and dad called to sing me their fancy version of Happy Birthday.  (You should get on their list of friends or family…then maybe they’ll call you too and sing you Happy Birthday in perfect harmony.  It’s a long-standing tradition.)

069

6.  Mom showed up with a birthday caramel macchiato and a gift certificate for 10 YOGA CLASSES!!! for me, a Chai tea for The Animal Whisperer and chocolate milks for the boys.

076

7.  Next, The Animal Whisperer (who has been milking the goats while I document my morning thus far) is taking me to breakfast.

Ohhhh, how nice it is to turn 39!  And it’s only 8:32 in the morning!

–  The 39-year-old Goat Cheese Lady

 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s My Birthday!!

  1. Debie Bennett says:

    Oops. I meant to send these pics of our beehives. The bees arrived yesterday. It was fabulous. I took the pictures without any protection and was the only one stung. Just once. No big deal. I’m so happy to have them in the garden. Debie Date: Mon, 19 May 2014 14:47:22 +0000 To: debiebennett@hotmail.com

  2. Debie Bennett says:

    Happy Birthday, Lindsey. I turned 64 last week. It’s great to be alive in Colorado, isn’t it? Debie Date: Mon, 19 May 2014 14:47:22 +0000 To: debiebennett@hotmail.com

  3. Jeannette Zanipatín says:

    Happy Birthday, pretty lady! Hope you have a great birthday. Not sure you can too off what you’ve done so far! –Jeannette,Vlad, Mikaela y Danilka

  4. CenturyLink Customer says:

    Hi,

    I loved your birthday (39!!!!) blog.

    Have a great day today.

    Love,

    Aunt Marsha

  5. Ann Cott says:

    Happy Birthday Lindsey and have a wonderful continuation of your day as you move into the 40th. I know it threw people off when I announced I was moving into my 9th decade on Planet Earth. It takes a certain kind of mind to think the way we think. And we do have fun! Loved your birthday story too. Happy Day!

  6. bnnsimon says:

    Happy, happy, happy birthday! And don’t fear 40. For people like yourself who have done a good job of making your life what you want it to be, things only get better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

