Do Fingerprints Grow Back?

Because I have lost a few of mine.

001

 

003

Volunteering at elementary school field day yesterday, I took my self-induced bi-annual challenge to climb the rope.

Remember that thick, splintery rope that dangles from the ceilings of elementary school gyms across the country?  Two years ago, I made it to the top.  A proud moment for me and for my then 2nd grade son.

This year, I did not.

But I’m proud to say, Dad, I did my best.  As evidenced by the fact that I slid down the rope from (sort-of) near the ceiling after my second, chest heaving attempt to make it to the top from the half way point: a strategically placed knot where tired climber may rest.  My hands and arms were shot.  I hung on the whole way down, trying to slow the slide by squeezing my grip harder, thus resulting in the missing fingerprints.

They stung at first.

Then came rinsing them under water to remove rope shards before donning the band aids.  Now, THAT HURT.  I took a deep breath, pretended I was my six-year-old whose mother tells him to “Get Over It, It’s Just A Cut” when he complains about putting a microscopic papercut into the bath water, then thrust my formerly-known-as-fingerprints under the cold stream of faucet water AND DID NOT SCREAM, although it felt like all the pins in an acupuncture office being jabbed into the open wounds.

There are pros and cons, I’ve decided, to having no fingerprints.

011

Pros:

1.  I am ready to finger box at a moment’s notice.

2.  I can go undercover as a bank robber.

012

Cons:

1.  Typing in any other fashion than hunt-and-peck is out.

2.  No piano playing.  (Not really a problem, I haven’t played much since I was 10.)

3.  Washing my hands without soaking the bandages is like doing cirque du soleil with my fingers.

BUT, when my now fourth grader (who made it to the top) told me, “It’s OK Mom, there are tenthousand (in his school of 300) people in the school who can’t make it to the top…it’s not THAT embarrassing,”  I reminded him in true good parenting fashion:

“I am not embarrassed. Yes, I would have liked to make it to the top, but I DID MY BEST and that’s the only thing that matters.”

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do Fingerprints Grow Back?

  1. Victoria says:

    I had this happen once – over longer term. When I began cooking as a teen – in class and at home, I’d “test” the heat of the lid of the pot with one finger then decide if I needed a pot holder. Over the period of a month or two, the fingerprint disappeared and was completely smooth! It came back at some point within the year. Luckily, I had no actually skin lost like you’ve suffered. Sorry – that has to hurt!!! By Christmas, you should have fingerprints again.

  2. bnnsimon says:

    I never make it to the top. I get about 2/3rds of the way up and then make the mistake of looking down. Call me before you try again next year and I’ll lend you my garden-gloves-turned-rope-climbing gloves. They make the whole thing a lot easier.

  3. Patty Cameron says:

    Fabulous writing! Unfortunate incident with painful results!!!

    Sent from my iPhone Patty Cameron

    >

Leave a Reply

