Mozzarella, Mozzarella, Why Dost Thou Fail Me? Part 1

I have, to date, taught over 500 people to make mozzarella in The Goat Cheese Making Class. (See Annie below stretching raw goat mozarella).  In EVERY SINGLE CLASS, I tell students that you can make mozzarella with any kind of milk, as long as it is not ULTRA pasteurized.  Among cheese makers, it is common knowledge that you cannot use ultra pasteurized milk for anything except watering your bushes outside.  It is a useless shadow of what was once milk, but has been heated to such high temperatures that everything in it is dead.  Everything.  And as if dead weren’t enough, the high heat restructures the molecules formerly known as milk so they won’t EVER form cheese.

005

The only kinds of milk you can use for cheese making are raw (best) and pasteurized (second best).  If you don’t have access to raw, you will buy pasteurized!  And based on what I teach, what every other cheesemaking teacher teaches and what you’ll read in every book and find on every website, chat room, board and blog, is that pasteurized milk will work!

009

But below is the ***disclaimer*** which caused me to carry out a study to determine which of 4 locally available pasteurized cows milks works to make mozzarella.  (Details coming up in Part 2)

***Disclaimer:  All milk that is labeled pasteurized will not work.***

In my study, I picked 4 locally available brands of pasteurized cows milk, both organic and non-organic, with sell-by dates around the same time.  One didn’t work at all.  Another one hardly worked.  The other two worked fine.

WHAT?????  If they’re labeled Pasteurized, WHY WON’T THEY ALL WORK???

Yes.  Good Question.  Why won’t they all work?

For now, I’m going to ask for your guesses.  I have hypothesized the answer, but am in the process of researching the milk companies to determine if my answer is correct.  So, I’m not telling you yet.

I want to hear from YOU.  Why do you think, if every cheese making piece of information everywhere says you can use pasteurized milk, WHY WON’T IT WORK in some cases?(OK, that’s an over exaggeration.  I haven’t read every piece of cheesemaking information everywhere.)

Comment below with your guesses.  Even if you’re not sure, still guess.  I’ll tell you more of the details in Part 2.

Thanks for playing!!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, classes, Farm Life, How To..., Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mozzarella, Mozzarella, Why Dost Thou Fail Me? Part 1

  1. Cryssy says:

    I have no idea, but please tell me which ones worked, because those are the brands we have.

  2. Karen says:

    I think the success has to do with what temperature the milk has been pasteurized at, the higher, the less likely to make good mozzerella. I wonder if addition of Vit D could also affect it.

  3. sharon chapple says:

    sharon here from AMORE CHEESE in sydney,well yes to your first question uht milk can make cheese ,and suprising it tastes ok but no for its got know goodness at all.I only use raw or homegenised milk for my cheesemaking and have come across the same problem that some milks dont work.My answer is they add water to the milk and when they pasterise the milk they also add some other chemicial which i think is calcium chloride.If to much is used when manufacturing it the cheese splits like a sauce.I love getting your emails and would love an easy mozzarela recipe.Maybe come and visit you .cheers Sharon

    • Sharon, It’s great to hear from you! What cheeses do you make with ultrapasteurized milk? In Sydney, what are the regulations for ultrapasteurized (UHT) milk vs. pasteurized? I’m curious if milk regulations are different in Australia. It would be great to have you come visit!!! Lindsey

  4. Kathy Olsen says:

    I’ve been using Colorado Proud from King Soopers. It doesn’t act like the instructions say but when it’s time to stretch, it comes together. Why don’t they all work, my guess would be – the packaging is not properly labeled.

  5. Lori says:

    My first guess would be the difference in packaging – 2 in plastic and 2 not in plastic.

  6. Bob says:

    Maybe during the process of pasteurization the “rules” say a certain temperature must be achieved and maintained but there are no top end caps that say it cannot achieve a higher temperature – during processing the minimums are achieved and exceeded, the result is an ultra-pasteurized prodcut.

  7. Cortney says:

    One of the brands isn’t actually just pasteurized, it’s UHT pasteurized?

  8. Heather says:

    Some of the milk labeled “pasteurized” is actually “ultra-pasteurized?” Just a guess. I have no evidence to support this possibility.

  9. Cyndi says:

    Does it have something to do with fat content or how the milk is enriched after pasteurization?

Leave a Reply

