Lessons Learned: Part 3

The pictures contained herein are potentially vomit-causing if you are faint hearted or light of stomach.  Proceed with your eyes open or with your eyes closed, whichever you choose.  I am not too faint of either organ, so I find the pictures really rather amazing. 
 
 

Back at home:  Day 3

Day 3:  Back at home.  Shiny stuff is antibiotic ointment my nurse sister-in-law gave me.

Day 4

Day 4
Day 5
Day 6:  That little drip there is from a tiny pin-prick sized hole in the blister.  The hole happened by itself.  I made sure to take exceptional care that no infection entered so that it would continue to heal well.
Day 6
Day 6
Day 6
Day 6:  Now, that really looks nice.  Doesn’t it?
Day 9
Day 9:  All the liquid was finally out of the blister.
Day 10
Day 10:  Once the whole blister drained, I gently trimmed away all the dead skin.
Day 15
Day 15

Lesson Learned #1:  Buy your donuts.  Don’t make them.

Lesson Learned #2:  Water and hot oil DO NOT MIX.  They cause explosions.  If you DO decide to make your own donuts despite the warning in Lesson Learned #1, use dough that is dry, i.e. you JUST made it.  You DIDN’T put it in a lidded container overnight in the refrigerator to collect condensation (water.)

Lesson Learned #3:  When you get the donuts out of the hot oil, use LONG TONGS.  Not a short fork.  This will allow more time for your hand to escape if there is an explosion.

Lesson Learned #4:  DO NOT…I REPEAT…DO NOT USE BUTTER OR MARGERINE OR ANY OTHER TYPE OF FATTY SUBSTANCE TO ATTEMPT TO SOOTHE THE BURN.

Lesson Learned #5:  DO put your burned part straight into a pot of ICE WATER.

Lesson Learned #6:  If ice is not available, cut a bunch of tomatoes in half and squish up the insides a little and put them on the burn.  You’ll need a lot of tomatoes.

Lesson Learned #7:  Crack an egg.  Smear the white all over your burn.  Apparently this helps with reducing scarring.  Peel the thin white layer out from the inside of the shell and put that on there too.  (Lots of people told me about this after the fact.)

Lesson Learned #8:  DO NOT POP THE BLISTER.  It is your body’s protection against infection in the burn.  It will be hard to keep it unpopped, but it is worth it.  Once it does pop, you have to keep VERY sure it doesn’t get infected.

Lesson Learned #9:  Accept help.  The school secretary (Lesa) told me about a parent (TJ) who I had never met.  TJ is a wound care nurse.  I called TJ, explained who I was, who told me to call her, and why I was calling.  She didn’t know me from Adam (as my mom would say…who is Adam, anyway?), but she drove to my house right away, on her way to taking her kids to school and going to work.  She looked at my hand from her car window with me in my pajamas and slippers standing in the driveway.  She gave me Silvadene (burn medicine) and adaptic (non-stick gauze) and told me what to do.  I did it, and no scarring is the result.  Now, TJ is my friend for life.

057

Isn’t it amazing???

I’d love to hear your burn stories and your burn cures…

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, good people to know, How To... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lessons Learned: Part 3

  1. Shannon says:

    Linds ~ Since junior high, I go with the theory only 1-2 people should enjoy riding ANY type of motorized vehicle, but that’s me…and I’ve never worn shorts again while riding one! 🙂
    Not sure if Becky can read part of Yamaha, but for me, after 25 years, the burns are gone! 🙂 XOXO

  2. Shannon says:

    WOW Linds~What an amazing story and you healed beautifully!! Thank goodness for that; no scarring at all!! So thankful everyone who needed to be there were and could treat you right away!!
    In Junior High, Becky (Peterson) and I rode Shane Kent’s motorycycle…all three of us…and Becky and I wore shorts. I should mention, we might not have been the smartest cookies in the cookie jar at this point in our lives. Once we tippled it over we soon realized I had the YA and partial M burned into my upper thigh; Beckky had AHA burned into hers. We went back to her house in Manitou, put the tent up in the yard to “camp out” and poored alcohol on our burns in attempt to “hide” our fabulous YAMAHA brands.
    Needless to say, when my parents found out the next day, they were not so thrilled to have to call our paramedic friend that served on the Volunteer Fire Dept with Dad so come look at it.
    My Lessons:
    #1 – Three people should not ride on a motorcycle
    #2 – Shorts should not be worn IF three people ride on a motorcyle
    #3 – pooring alcohol onto a burn hurts like a Mo Fo!!
    #4 – Easier to fess up to parents of your stupidity right away! 🙂

    Glad you are well my Friend!!

    • Shannon, I vaguely remember hearing about that…you definitely have some interesting experiences!!! Questions though: Do you recommend wearing shorts even if there are NOT three people on there? And, can you still read YAMAHA if the two of you stand next to each other? Lindsey

  3. Dawn Trent says:

    I am so glad tht you are okay!

  4. florasforum says:

    OW. OW. OW! Great post. So glad you made a full recovery and it wasn’t worse!

  5. Heather says:

    Haha, I find it to be such a small world! We went to school together in 6th rade i think lol Anyway, I am new to the whole farming life but am very excited to learn new things, we are hoping to have our chickens in the next month or so and hoping to have our goats and rabbits this spring! We just moved out east on 5 acres and are anxious to start our little farm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

