Should I Make Cheese Making Videos?

There are lots of cheese making videos on YouTube, so why should I add more?  Do we need more cheese making videos in the world?  I don’t know.

But, I just kind of want to do it.  We’ve been thinking about it for a couple of years, but I never completely bought into the idea.

Now, I have…for a variety of reasons:

1.   It would force me to make new cheeses that I’ve been wanting to make, but just haven’t done it yet.

2.  I could use my new wine refrigerator for a cheese cave.

3.  It would be fun.

4.  It would bring more people to my website, which would hopefully bring more people to my classes…and maybe even cause me to create more classes.  (ie…more money for the farm).

But, I need your input.  Please, help me here.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time making videos if you don’t think you’ll watch them.

So, I’ve got some questions.  Would you be so kind as to answer them?  I want to know, if I make the videos, what do you want to see?  How long should they be?  Should I even do it?

Thanks for your help.  I’ll let you know what I decide!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, classes, How To..., Milking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Should I Make Cheese Making Videos?

  1. Karen says:

    It would be very helpful for those who are trying to make cheese at home to reflect on tools, handy reminders and how cheese should look at each stage. This gives a guide on whether we are doing it right when we try to replicate what we learn in class. Especially hanging, draining and pressing techniques. You may want to also have one on what to NOT do. Thanks!

  2. Linnea Bjorkman says:

    I said no on the survey… only because the thing that makes your idea unique is the experience on the farm. Maybe a video about the experience a person has when they come to the farm (that would entice people). But don’t give away your secrets and recipes until they get to the farm 🙂

    *~~~~~~~~~

    **Alas de Yoga ~~** *Free Yoga Classes in Spanish at Sister Mary Lucy in NE Denver every Monday and Friday at 10:00am. 3707 Humboldt Street, Denver CO 80205.

    *Kindness Yoga classes* ~~ Thurs at 7:00pm in Capitol Hill above City O’ City. Donation based drop-in rate, $15 suggested. Visit http://www.kindnesscollective.com for more information.

    • I appreciate your honesty. In the videos, I plan to do my best to include some of the “experience”, but I think you’re right…actually being here for a class is the only way to really experience it! Thanks, Linnea. Lindsey

  3. Cindy says:

    Go for it! 🙂 Really, you have lots of good reasons to do it, the most important of which is that you think it would be fun. Yes, there are a lot of videos on youtube, but each person has a different personality and will attract a different audience. I have watched some videos and will view more, but would prefer one you did, as I love your sense of humour. And while I have your ear….I have really missed reading your blogs!!!

Leave a Reply

