My Hairdryer

For a few days now, the faucet in the barn has been frozen.025Solid.  Like an iceberg.  And, The Animal Whisperer has resorted to using my hair dryer to attempt to thaw it.

I used to put up a fight: My hair dryer was new, shiny black, one of the few things in pristine condition in our house, and used only by the only girl in the house.  I wound the cord up perfectly as any good Type A cord winder can do, and stowed it away for the next major holiday when I might decide to do my hair.

And, every so often, over the years, The Animal Whisperer would request it for some outdoor thawing issue.  Painfully, I would hand it over, “JUST BRING IT BACK IN!”, fearing that it would be commandeered as a permanent part of his shop.  Faithfully, he always brought it back in.  Not quite as shiny as it was when it left, but I forced myself to deal with that…no complaining.  At least not out loud.

So, today, I was interrupted for the third time while stretched out on the floor in the patch of sun streaming through the window, trying to take a sugar induced cat nap.  My five-year old opened the door and shouted in:  “MOM!  Papi wants your hairdryer!!!”

Du-du-du-dum.  The gloom filled music thumped in my head.  The faucet must still be frozen.

But now, after the years of begrudgingly allowing the use of my hairdryer for, what I deemed un-ladylike (although necessary) use, I peeled up from the floor, and dutifully retrieved it.  In the walk from the bathroom to the crack in the door where his little arm reached inside, I noticed the scuffs, dust and white paint marks that have become part of its faded shiny blackness, and handed it to my son.

I’ve wizened to the point that I now happily give it up for The Greater Good.  I blow-dry my hair maybe four times a year.  We need water in the barn every day.  I know, I’m really becoming a better person.  Right?

016

Because, for as long as the faucet remains frozen, the two hoses must be hauled up to the house and hooked to the faucet in the garage,

017

stretched through the garage,

018

to the stairs,

019

down the stairs,

020

to the goat pen,

021

and water given to the animals and the greenhouse, and drained then recoiled before the water that’s inside of them freezes.  It’s a huge pain in the neck.

The bad news is, today, the hairdryer did not thaw the faucet.  What is usually a 10 minute watering process turned into 30 minutes.

The good news is, while I’m sitting outside typing this with my fingers slowly numbing, I have no idea where my hair dryer is.  And, I’m OK with that.

Volunteering it to the ice-thawing cause to help The Animal Whisperer not have to go to so much work is worth it.  Really, I’m a great wife.

Happy New Year!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Hairdryer

  1. Angela Rothweiler says:

    I have had many winters like that. I bought this waterer it might help.
    http://www.horsedrinker.com/

  2. I’m not sure how your pipes are set up but you might consider “heat tape”. Years ago we lived in a mobile home. The pipes ran under the home but above ground and only protected from the elements by the trailer skirt so of course they were in danger of freezing. Heat tape is wrapped around the pipes and keep the pipes from freezing….you would need access to an electrical outlet. Good luck!!!

  3. karen kanode says:

    Lindsey, You are a great wife, awesome mother, loving Goat Mama, and creative writer extraordinare!

    Thanks so much for sharing your perspective!

      Karen Kanode

    “Do unto those downstream as you would have those upstream do unto you.”  Wendell Berry

    ________________________________

  4. Lynn Remy says:

    I have miles of electric outdoor cord, a spare heater for tanks, and extra heated buckets. I live in Sedalia. Could you meet me half way? I could loan these to you! I just got automatic waterers, so I feell safe loaning them out. Very sincerely, Lynn Remy

  5. Elaine Taravella says:

    I solved my frozen pipe issue with plain old light bulbs in garage-style clamp lamps. I just clipped a few at intervals along the difficult stretch before I went to be at night and, in the morning–water!

  6. Bonnie Stoney says:

    Enjoyed your story. Try using a Propane torch, if you have the type of faucet that drains at the bottom. Heat the pipe and actual faucet, but keep in mind that you do not want to put too much heat on the rod that slides up and down in the type of faucet that drains itself. You can damage the rubber gaskit at the top of the rod, if you get it too hot. We had our faucet freeze up early this year and we used the propane torch, running the flame up and down the pipe and in the actual faucet to break the ice loose. Propane torches are less expensive than a good hairdyer. good luck!

    Stoneys Chinese Shar-Pei AKC Breeder Of Merit Bonnie Stoney (719) 267-5522 10759 County Road F Olney Springs, Co 81062 I have resolved never to do anything which I should be afraid to do if it were the last hour of my life. Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

