Introducing… Peaches’ Baby Boy!

Kidding season has finally come to our farm! 

We’ve been waiting (me, rather impatiently) for the day to come that Peaches, one of our pregnant does, would finally give birth.  I was being SO impatient that I was beginning to believe that Peaches was not pregnant.  That she’d been tricking us all along.

Well, Thursday morning, her water broke.

And, Friday morning around 2 am, she had her baby boy.  All on her own, with no help from any of us!  (mostly, because we were all asleep.)

But, when the Animal Whisperer went down to check on her, to see if she had kidded,  at 2:30 am, he found the baby already cleaned up by his mom.

He woke all of us up…the boys included…and we all went down at 3:30 am, in the 19 degree night, to stand in outside the nursery room stall to meet the little dude.

So, although we are happy to have a new baby around, I am most happy that it means soon, the milk will be a flowin’!  More milk means more cheese!  More milk means spring’s coming soon!  More milk means ice cream!!!  More milk means white, delicious, wholesome, as-nature-intended, abundance!

So, raise your glasses of milk and join me in a toast: 

To Abundance!!!

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, Kidding, Milking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introducing… Peaches’ Baby Boy!

  1. Marilan says:

    Hey you let me know your intents for him as I may want to trade our meat boys for him. We need a good buck for some does and Ray is recommending him. I am just in the freshening game now but good registered lines are still precious for minimum dollars. Check with Ray for what his registered status would be worth. I am thinking $175 or better. Just keep me posted and I have a pink boy for you too if you want him. About a week old now.

    SO GLAD SHE CAME INTO MILK FOR YOU AND RAY TO SEE HOW SHE DOES> I would bottle him too if you want the extra milk if Ray recommends him.

  2. Melina says:

    What a pretty baby. I do love those Alpines!

Leave a Reply

