How To Clean Out The Inside Of Your Oven Window.

After teaching close to 400 people how to make mozzarella, I just got sick of the dripping streaks of whey that stuck out like a sore thumb from the black background of the oven window. 

When we used to stretch the mozzarella over the smooth top stove, drips would somehow sneak down the front and through the grate and inside the window.

Students, helping me clean up, would scrub madly at the drips, trying to clean them off, only to realize it was impossible.  And, opening the door to clean the window from the inside did nothing either.  It was IN BETWEEN the double panes of the heat proof glass.  The drips had gotten in there from the grate looking thing above the handle.

I asked (aloud) to many people, How do I clean this thing?????  A friend told me her friend had taken the whole door apart, only to find that her oven didn’t work right after she put the door back together.

Well, I certainly didn’t want a broken oven, but the pull became overwhelming stronger in the other direction.  I cared more about removing the drips than if my oven broke.  Not exceptional reasoning, I’m aware, but my mind works that way sometimes.

The drips were wearing on my psyche.  I just couldn’t take it anymore.

I dove in.  I did it.  And, it was worth it.  And, the oven still works. 

Here’s how.

Can you see why this would be annoying day after day after day?

I grabbed the set of tools my husband gave me for Christmas.  The one’s I protect like a hawk so that no one else in my family decides they need to use them out in the barn or something.

When I opened the oven door, I saw this screw head.  Why not unscrew it, I thought.

See all those drips on the inside there?  Just be careful, because it’s not like the window is on hinges or anything…it sort of hangs there precariously like it might just decide to snap right off from the door part and land crashing on the floor.  (I posed it with my fingers crossed for this picture.)

The things on the floor are the grate and the handle.  Once you take out the long screws that hook everything together, these come off.

Now is when you clean off the inside of the window.  It feels magical, really, after months and months of wondering how to make the streaks disappear.

And, while you’re at it, you can clean off the grate that you never knew had this much gunk stuck on it where the handle goes. 

When it’s time to put the whole shebang back together, slide the grate on.  Make sure the right parts overlap the other right parts.  That hole is where the screw will eventually go back in.

Then, while still wearing your favorite pajamas, hold the window on with your knee and put the handle in the right place.  Slide the long screw back through the door, from whence it came.

Stand and gaze in awe at your newly cleaned oven door.  The whole process only took about 30 minutes.  It was free.  Nothing broke.  And, now, you can relax. 

After you clean the dirty floor.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks to Mary, Frank and Adela for donating to the  Great Stides fundraising walk to cure Cystic Fibrosis!  So far, The Goat Cheese Lady Team has raised $1,420.00!!!  We’re well on our way to meeting our goal of $10,000!!! 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cystic Fibrosis, Farm Life, How To... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How To Clean Out The Inside Of Your Oven Window.

  1. Sue G. says:

    Isn’t amazing what we find ourselves doing in pajamas? Thanks for the help. My mother has been trying to figure this out for a couple of years now!

    • Awesome! I’m glad it helped! I need to do mine again now! And…sometime in the near future, I need to tackled deep cleaning the washing machine. I’ll let you know how that goes! – Lindsey

  2. Joann Lowe says:

    Just stumbled upon your blog while looking for chicken coops & accessories. This post cracked me up!! I did the same thing to my oven not long ago. I always wondered how in the world does stuff get in there. We even had dust….yucj!! Anyway, now I can see my food baking so clearly now! :)

  3. Marilan says:

    Absolutely incredible! We have exactly the same oven I believe…Frigidaire! I have drips too and the grate thing I did last year too but didn’t try to seperate the parts for cleaning the drips. Thanks for the instruction manual.

  4. Ann Cott says:

    My Maytag repair man told me not to try cleaning mine as you did – - so I still have the drips. Perhaps you would like to come do oven door?

Leave a Reply

