Count Down To The New Dishwasher!!!

I can hardly breathe.  Or speak.  Or wash another dish.  (and, after this picture, Montana can’t really see straight either.)

As many of you know, who’ve been to a class and heard me say, “Our dishwasher is broken, so I’ll be washing the dishes as we go to have everything ready for you…” (smile), and seen the pile of dishes after brunch and generously offered to help wash them, we’ve been dishwasherless for about 4 months.

Now, in my adult life, I had never had a dishwasher until moving to this house 2 1/2 years ago, so I am not a dish wimp.  I can hand wash dishes faster than you can say lickety split, but, really, when I have a volcano of dishes from all the cooking I do, and it takes me 45 minutes to clean up the kitchen each day, I wouldn’t mind having some help.  And, a dishwasher comes to mind.

And, although I’m kind of proud of my dishpan hands because they show I’m a workin’ woman, I’m ready to have them not look (and feel) quite so much like the leathery, peeling, cracking skin of a grandfather lizard.

Well, I have good news.  Even my 4-year-old thinks it’s good news.

WE ARE GETTING A NEW DISHWASHER!!!!!  Yippety Doo Dah Day!!!!  From the minute we ordered it, I’ve been resenting every single dish I’ve hand washed.  That was 10 days ago. 

And, today, The Animal Whisperer will finish installing it.  (Have I mentioned that he is totally amazing?  After working on upgrading the electrical in the barn all day yesterday, and saying his back was killing him, he began installing the NEW dishwasher last night.  And, if it weren’t for some plumbing upgrades necessary, he would have finished it.)

Did I tell you it is NEW?  We buy most things on Craigslist, but this is NEW!!!  I am a big proponent of reusing things, but not-so-secretively am very excited to have a NEW dishwasher!!!

So, today, plumbing-willing, our NEW dishwasher will run its maiden voyage.  And, I’ll never have to wash a pile like this again in my sparkling future.  

Have you ever been so excited to get something new???

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

