Crunchy Betty….wAs HeRe!

And, she’s awesome!!!  I admit, when her book came out, I was a little nervous to email her, she seemed so accomplished and famous and all…but, being that we live in the same city, I took the chance that maybe….just maybe…she’d email me back.

SHE DiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiDDDDDDDD!!!!!

And, we had A BALL!  We were like two peas in a tree hugging, blogging pod.  (did I just call myself a tree hugger? or did I just call Crunchy Betty a tree hugger?)

Leslie, milking Lucy.

Mostly, the plan was for her to come here so I could interview her about her book (that was my secret guise just to get to meet her…my in, you could say.).  Thank goodness she took me up on it, because what I learned about Leslie (aka. Crunchy Betty) is that she is a pure hearted, down to earth, do gooder who just wants to help people improve their lives with natural ingredients.  Food.  On your face.  Food.  In your cleaning products.

I first learned about her from my friend, Bonnie.  Bonnie mentioned something about the Honey Face wash challenge, weird, I thought.  Honey?  On my face?  But, I checked out her site.

And got hooked.

Now, them are some good lookin' eggs!

And, if you read here a couple weeks ago, you’ll remember about all the food I tried on my face.  And it worked.  And now there’s a book.  And I bought it.  And you should too.  Food On Your Face For Acne and Oily Skin.  It is all of the best of Crunchy Betty recipes and knowledge ALL IN ONE PLACE!  And, it’s dirt cheap.  Dirt.  $7.99.

Straining the 1 1/2 gallons of milk the goats gave us!

During 3 hours of FUN yesterday, I learned she spends HOURS and HOURS every day working on her recipes, trying new skin care regimes, blogging, responding to emails, responding to comments, keeping up facebook and twitter…ALL FOR FREE!  It is her full time job.  And she charges nothing for it.  (Something I am trying to convince her to change, now that I’ve known her for 3 hours.)

The fresh chevre with covered up garden-dug potatoes under the towel in the background.

So, without realizing that this post would turn into a plea….it has.

If you have Acne or Oily Skin, please buy her book.  It supports Leslie.  And she is giving 50% of the profits away!

Our feast! Fresh, no preservatives, homemade everything!

Sometimes, you have the fortune to meet someone famous.  Crunchy Betty is famous.  I mean, SHE HAS 10,000 hits a day on her blog and 1,453 people like her on facebook!  She is famous!  And she lives 10 minutes away from me!

But, when you meet this famous person, you realize she is normal.  She’s not some dripping-in-jewels, behind the scenes millionaire posing as a natural beauty blogger.  She has the same successes, struggles and goods and bads in her life that we all do.  She runs a small (no-profit) business and is up against the same FDA and USDA and other government restrictions we all, as small business owners, are.

Two tree huggers (eh-hem, I meant natural beauties) and ol' conehead (poor guy, just got neutered).

She is passionate about her website, her readers, what she puts on her face and about educating the rest of us about what we can put on ours.

By buying her book, you are giving yourself a gift, and by buying her book, you are supporting her.  Go buy the book!

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Thanks for listening.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks to MARSHA!!!  Crunchy Betty’s mom, for taking all of the amazing pictures!!!!

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, good people to know and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crunchy Betty….wAs HeRe!

  1. Marilan says:

    Is she able to make it Saturday? She sounds wonderful. Bring copies of the book to sell.

Leave a Reply

