Fox Nightly News

Me and Fox.  We’re getting to be good friends.  I mean Fox and I.

Aly Myles came out on Monday to interview us and “drop into our daily lives…with a video camera.” 

She got the idea, interviewed, filmed, edited….

……….sccccccrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeechhhhhhhhhh…….wait a dad-blamed minute….I just got derailed.  The Animal Whisperer came out from the kitchen and offered me some of the meat he is cooking.  He slaughtered a goat yesterday, and is cooking ribs, so I thought it was rib meat.  I popped it in my mouth acceptingly…but it was all pasty.  Kind of like eating a greasy, meaty tasting, piece of brain.  Except.  It was balls.  Yes, Rocky Mountain Goat Oysters.  I almost threw up.  While he sat over there in his chair, eyes closed, savoring every ooey, gooey, salty, squishy second of it.  Sick. 

OK.  Back on topic…

…Aly got the idea, interviewed us, filmed, edited, produced and was on the news with it that night!  Faster than I could even shake a stick.  And, faster than I could even let you know about it.  Sorry.

The good thing about the internet is that You Can See It Later!  If you have the right viewer on your computer, but don’t ask me about what that is, I have no idea.  Just rest assured that if you can’t see it when you click on it, you just might need a different viewer.  Again, don’t ask me.

Anyway, in honor of Local Foods Week….HERE IT IS!!! 

Note the part where The Animal Whisperer says he thought I was crazy. 

And, be aware that when she got here, 10 minutes early (I’m beginning to pick up on the fact that news people are habitually early, which doesn’t fit well with my do-everything-at-the-last-minute style), my hair was up in huge, pink, velcro rollers, I wasn’t dressed in the outfit I wanted to wear and I didn’t have my makeup on. 

I just didn’t want you to think that I’ve become all glamorous or something just because I got to be on TV.

And, not shown in her piece are the fact that she tasted, and LIKED (…are you listening Craig Coffey?) warm and cold goat’s milk and goat yogurt and goat mozzarella!  Not bad for a morning at the farm!

But, now, I have laryngitis.  I can only whisper.  My voice hurts.  Have you ever had that happen?  I don’t really feel that bad, but I sound like I’ve been a 60-year-5-pack-a-day-smoker.  But I don’t smoke.  And, the whole mechanism around my voice box just hurts.  It’s tired.  It wants to go to sleep.

OK, so it’s not from being on Fox News, it’s really just the effects of the end of a laryngitis producing cold, but I’m really wondering if it’s a high sign from above…

…”STOP TALKING!”

Well, now, that’s hard to do.  I love to talk.

But, my kids are listening better.  When their mother can only whisper, they have to listen much more attentively to hear what I say, and that way, I know they heard it and they know they can’t ignore me.  Aaaaaahhhh, there’s always a silver lining to every cloud!

Oh, wait, your kids don’t ignore you?  Good for you.

Welcome to my world.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, classes, Farm Life, funny stories, good people to know and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fox Nightly News

  1. Marilan says:

    Hey feel free to plug our farm to fox if you like. I want to help people and show them they can do this at home. Any home. Raise your own whatever. I hope you have a cute goat kid to bring to Homestead fair. I have a couple if need be, not as small but friendly. Do you think your greenhouse people would come? This will be a plug for all of us, bring cards, schedules, brochures, to promote what you offer all I have is tours, some meat available, and ideas that work.

    • I did plug your farm…Easter Egg Acres! But…they edited it out! =) I stick you in most sentences I speak these days! =) I’ll ask Becky from Blue Planet if she’d like to come to talk about greenhouses and she is an amazing permaculturist. I’ll keep thinking about other good people. We need a beekeeper. I can contact http://www.coloradospringsurbanhomesteaders.meetup.com too, it’s a group I’m a part of, and may have a lot of interested people!!! Great idea to have a Homestead Fair at Good Earth!!!

  2. Karen says:

    Lindsey, you are such an inspiring and fun Mom! Thanks for sharing your exciting adventures. I hope you stay here and continue to find success in your kitchen helping so many of us learn and enjoy the urban farming life! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

