Recipe of the Day: #10 LOCAL FOOD WEEK

Starting tomorrow, it is Local Food Week in Colorado Springs! 

And, I have lots of AWESOME recipes to share with you in honor of all things local…or mostly local.

So, here’s goes!

You’ve heard, no doubt, about green smoothies.  If you haven’t, turn your TV off, cut off your cable and start talking to people who don’t watch TV, and hang out mostly in their own gardens or at the farmer’s market.

That’s how I heard about them.  Our friend Jim gave me a grassy looking glass of his morning Greenie.  I drank it, with some reluctance.  It had everything from…well, actually, I don’t know what was in it.  But he has lots of greens in his garden, and had just learned you can eat purslane (commonly known by gardeners as a weed that should be exterminated), so I’m guessing it had lots of garden greens and purslane in it.

After swallowing what tasted like a handful of the grass clippings out of the lawn mower bag mixed with a little water, I told him something along the lines of:

“This is AWFUL!” 

But, have you ever experienced putting something in your body that you JUST KNEW was doing great things for you?  It’s like you can feel your blood cleansing, your skin glowing, your vision improving, and your brain cells exploding into things that actually can retain information for longer than 1 minute.  Ya.  That kind of thing.

And, The Animal Whisperer liked it.

So, since I realized it probably was the healthiest thing I’ve drunk in 35 years, I decided to try again at home.  With LOTS of honey.  And, since then, except for the time I almost died because I added a cabbage leaf, I’ve been hooked.

So, get your farmer’s market list ready, or go out to the garden.  Get all the greens you can find.  (Stay away from the cabbage leaves, the bitterness might make your eyeballs roll in uncontrollable circles.  But, that’s just my opinion.  The Animal Whisperer just said…”but I liked it!”)

So, for your green (or brownish, in my case) smoothie, grab a handful or two of one kind of greens.  (I freeze my greens…just wash ‘em and freeze ‘em…then grab crispy, frozen handfuls of health.)

These are turnip greens.  I could do without them, because they are bitter in their old age, but they’re good for me.

Here are beet greens. 

And, frozen parsley.

Put in some homegrown carrots and part of a frozen beet.

And, what I think hides…eh hem…I mean enhances the flavor of the greens is local honey and garden fresh chocolate mint.

And ice.  Smoothies need to be smoothieish.  Not warmish.

Mix it up.  I have a Vitamix.  Best appliance purchase in my life.

What do orange and green and red make?

Brown.  And, actually, pretty delicious brown!  Now, when I first tasted this, I was prepared for the worst…because my cabbage leaf incident stuck in my mind.  But, the first thing I tasted was…CHOCOLATE!

For a brief second, I was perplexed.  But…I didn’t put any chocolate in there!  Hmmm.  Why would it taste like chocolate?

Well…duh…the chocolate mint actually tastes kind of chocolatey when added to beets, carrots, parsley, honey, beet greens and turnip greens!

Now, if you can have a green smoothie that is really brown and tastes like chocolate…why wouldn’t you? 

And, you can’t get more local than your garden or your neighbor’s garden or Jim’s garden or the Farmer’s Market!

-  The (Local in Colorado Springs) Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  For storage, I freeze all my vegetable greens and some of the vegetables to throw into a smoothie or a soup later.  You can use them frozen in your smoothie or fresh.  However you like to do things.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

