I Must Be Sick or Something.

For the second day in a row, I did not need a nap.  And I don’t mean just a cat nap.  I mean a 2 or 3 hour dead-to-the-world nap starting around 1ish for the last several months.  Thaaaaaaaaannnk Goodness!  It’s nice to get an extra 3 hours of stuff done.  Thanks to Citalopram, I know my naps are not depression induced, so I chalk them up to “I am listening to what my body needs.”  (now, strike a yoga pose)  It would be helpful, however, for my body NOT to need to sleep 8 or 9 hours at night, then again 2 or 3 hours during the day.  I would much prefer to hear my body say:  “You only need 5 hours of sleep each night and you’ll have all the energy you need all day long!!!” 

But, whatever.  I’m thankful I have the time.

The box of cheap organic peaches I bought last week ripened right on schedule, like I figured it would, on a day I couldn’t deal with them.  The next day, mold.  That day, I stuck them in the fridge to stop the ripening, hoping to gain a little more naptime.  Napped.

Yesterday, I planned to can them.  Not so.

I got as far as cutting off the bad spots, blanching them in boiling water, putting them in ice cold water, peeling off the skins, slicing them.  Nothing else.  There was no canning happening yesterday.  (but no nap either.)

Today, however, with some source of energy recently foreign to me, I canned and cooked for 6 1/2 hours straight!  I started after milking this morning and finished around 3:30!  And, used up ALL those peaches!  Plus, a bunch of shredded zucchini still in the freezer since last summer.

In the plastic dish is peach pie filling I’ll freeze and use in the winter.  In two of the jars are peach chutney.  In the other two are peach mint preserves.  In the pot is creamy zucchini soup.  In the four bread pans are zucchini bread. 

Here’s the deal.  Once I actually eat each thing, if I like it and I don’t drop over dead, I’ll post the recipes.  For now, I’ll leave you drooling and cursing at me.

But, to calm you down, I’ll show you this:

 

 Yesterday’s harvest.  Take a deep breath and enjoy.

Eeeeeeeehhhh-Huuuuuuuuuuhhhh. 

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

 

 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Must Be Sick or Something.

  1. Melanie says:

    *awake (not away)

  2. Melanie says:

    Wow – I love naps too but hate to take them because of the time I lose……good that you’re listening to your body and getting that rest. When you ARE away you are incredibly productive!! Can’t wait for the recipes! Thank you for the gorgeous picture of the dill and sunflowers!

Leave a Reply

