It’s My Birthday!

Yes, Today, I’m 36.

Thanks to my mom who went through labor and giving birth 36 years ago.

Thanks to my dad you gave her his half of my gene pool.

Thanks to their parents who had them, and their parent’s parents who had them. 

If everything in history hadn’t worked out exactly right, I wouldn’t be here. 

If the my 16th great-grandfather of the Cameron clan hadn’t survived that one skirmish with some other Scottish clan in the 1500’s, and met my 16th great-grandmother, I wouldn’t be here.

If that meteor hadn’t struck the earth and killed all the dinosaurs when it did, I wouldn’t be here.

If modern medicine hadn’t come up with Prednisone, I believe it’s rather likely that a kidney condition I had in childhood through young adulthood would have led to kidney failure, and I wouldn’t be here.

If The Animal Whisperer hadn’t convinced me to get help for depression 1 1/2 years ago, I believe I would still be here, but would be hanging on by a very thin thread.

I am thankful when I see chalk drawings on the deck, because it means I have 2 beautiful, energetic, rambunctious children, and that I’m alive.

I am thankful when I eat something that maybe doesn’t even taste good, because it means I have food, and that I’m alive.

I am thankful when I see the new scrub oak leaves on the trees, miniature versions of their summer outfits.

I am thankful that after a long day, I can rest my forehead on Canela’s side while I milk her.

I am thankful that my boys and my husband surprised me at 6:30 this morning with coffee and a delicious breakfast in bed.

I am thankful for all of the recycled treasures that are part of our farm and household inventory, because it means I have a dedicated and creative and resourceful and protective husband.

I am thankful I am married to my husband.

I am thankful for yoga, goats and Citalopram, the three main reasons I’ve kicked depression.

I am thankful to have lived 36 years.

I am thankful I have at least 64 to go.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s My Birthday!

  1. Eli says:

    My maiden name is Cameron! I hope you had a wonderful birthday!
    Elizabeth Rainhart

  2. Erica says:

    I am thankful you were the friendly girl across the hall from me in A/L freshmen year at UPS. My life has never been the same and I am so thankful. 🙂

    Happy birthday my dear Friend Linds!

    Erica

  3. Nora says:

    Happy Birthday!

  4. Melina says:

    You truly are blessed! Maybe I need to try yoga again.
    From your Citalopram sister

  5. marianne says:

    happy birthday lindsey! i’m thankful for all those things you mentioned, too, as they contribute to who you are and i’m thankful i know you!

  6. Lisa Jackson says:

    Happy Birthday!!!
    from Jason and Lisa Jackson

  7. Linda Stepanek says:

    You are amazing Lindsey☺ Hope your 36th b-day is by far the BEST!!

  8. mary menz says:

    Happy, happy birthday to you!

Leave a Reply

