Dream List Update

Remember back in January?  Remember when I showed you my Dream List?  Well, I’ve done some of them and some are in progress, so I thought I’d give you an update:

Plant at least 6 fruit trees:  DONE!  2 apple, 1 cherry, 1 apricot, 1 peach, 1 plum.

Make hard cheeses:  Not yet.

Grow, eat, harvest and preserve 9 months worth of produce:  working on that.  Cool weather crops are planted outside in the garden, seedlings are growing well in the basement I’ve started hardening some off.

Grow the garden in raised beds:  3 raised beds are built and waiting for tomatoes and peppers and whatever else goes into them.

Get handstand:  I can hold a handstand for an astounding 6!!!! seconds!  I wouldn’t say I’ve “gotten” it yet though.  Still working on it.

Can 25 pints of tomatoes:  Will do in the fall.

Permaculture our land:  In progress.

Grow and slaughter 30 chickens:  We’ve slaughtered 15 so far.

Go to girls weekend:  June!

Paint every room in the house:  I’ve painted the kitchen so far.

Organize every room in the house:  Ya, not so much.

Get bind (a twisty contortionist’s move in yoga):  I can do it, but not as well as I’d like.

Raise and have slaughtered or buy and have slaughtered our own pig:  Not yet.

Brighten the basement:  Not yet.

Buy more land adjacent to our house:  Not yet.  The money tree is still waiting to bear fruit.

Get 3 gallons/day of milk:  Gettin’ there!  Getting 2 1/2 gallons a day.

Be on Good Morning America:  Well, if Debi Pelican has her say, I’ll be on next week.  Debi is an amazing friend. 

Change city goat policy:  Not yet, and I’ve been rethinking that.  I might not do it.

Farm like Joel Salatin:  A work in progress.  Will be for the next 20 or 30 years, but we’ve started!

Have summer potlucks:  It’s not summer yet, so not yet.

How’s your dream list turning out?  I hope your year is going as well as mine!!!

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dream List Update

  1. marilan says:

    We need to get together on an offer I have to help on one item. Let me know when’s good for you. I am working on a day for soap too what day this week is good?

Leave a Reply

