Yesterday, In My Life As An Urban Farmgirl.

1.  Nightmare of goats in the kitchen eating the freshly roasted pumpkin seeds.  I got up at 6:30ish am.

2.  Got the kids ready for school.

3.  Milked.  Collected eggs.  Bottle fed the baby girl goat. 

4.  Threw down some eggs the Animal Whisperer made for me.

4.  Went to clean at the yoga studio, so I can get yoga classes for free.

5.  Took a hotter that hades yoga class where I thought I might throw up the eggs.

6.  Took a quick shower at the yoga studio.

7.  Dressed in my Eve’s Revolution outfit.

8.  Went to eat lunch at school with my 7-year-old.

9.  Went to the volunteer appreciation luncheon at his school.  Shoveled down WAY more delicious potluck food than can fit in the waist band of my jeans.  (You read that right.  Two lunches.  Back to back.)

10.  Went to Annie’s to talk marketing with her and her precious daughter.

11.  Went home, changed into barn clothes and slaughtered a chicken.

12.  Changed back into Eve’s Revolution clothes and went to pick up the boys from school.

13.  Came back home, changed into barn clothes again, slaughtered 5 more chickens.

14.  Served left-overs for dinner.

15.  Went to the office supply store to pick up my “The Goat Cheese Lady” stamp for my business cards.

16.  Made White Milkshakes.  (Milk, ice, vanilla, sugar in the blender.)

17.  Watched Little House On The Prairie with my 3 boys.  (The Animal Whisperer, 3-year-old, 7-year-old).

18.  Milked.  Collected eggs.  Bottle fed the baby girl goat.

19.  Fell into bed.

I have a great life!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yesterday, In My Life As An Urban Farmgirl.

  1. Diana says:

    Wow, what a packed and awesome day! I think my days go by so much faster with all of the stuff we do on the farm, even though we work longer hours than we ever did at a job. Every minute is more fulfilling – hugs can be given when needed, you witness animals’ develop and roses can be smelled! Love hearing what you are doing with you day; keep up the good (hard) work!
    Diana (lilbitfarms.com)

    • Hi Diana! It is amazing what we can fit in a day!!! And, I love everything about it that you mentioned. I can gaze up at the stars every night, hold a baby goat, listen to the crackling branches wondering if a bear is coming through (yikes.), plant the garden, be with the kids, be with my husband. It’s wonderful. Lindsey

  2. ann says:

    I will respond on my blog just to show you how this Faux Farm girl spent her day.
    We have so much in common – well, not really. Did you actually kill the chickens? With your bare hands? I hope you wore gloves!!

    • Yes, I killed em. With my bare hands and a really sharp steak knife. Sliced my fingers twice. Gloves would have been a handy idea, but they didn’t cross my mind.?.?. I’ll be on the lookout for what you did yesterday! Lindsey

Leave a Reply

