IT’S RAINING!!!!!!

Farmer’s, gardeners and The Coalition of Activists Against Dry Weather are doing a rain dance tonight. 

A thank-you-for-finally-raining dance. 

A Thank-God-The-Heavens-Finally-Opened-Up-And-Are-Pouring dance tonight. 

A hallelujah.  A celebration. 

We are having glowing premonitions of what our bone dry dirt yards and fields will look like in a couple days.  THEY WILL BE GREEN!

In my own metamorphosis this winter from non-locavore to locavore, I realize I have even crossed the obsessive-compulsive line into where my water comes from.  I want local water.  No, not piped in from the Rocky Mountains or Pueblo water, but local water.  Water that falls from above my head. 

Rain.

I have had to give up that notion for the garden’s and fruit tree’s and animal’s benefits…we just couldn’t wait for the first rain to give the animals water.  And if we had waited for the first rain (or any rain, for that matter), the garden and fruit trees would never stand a chance.

But, the rest of our “yard” is dry, brown grass disguised as dirt.  I’m sure the roots are probably still down there, but after a long winter of very few drips of water, and a few goats grazing here and there, the shards of grass appear to have lost the battle. 

But now, there is hope. 

And a new motivation to dig more trenches to guide the precious rain water to where I really want it to be.  And, that would not be in the ten foot long pool it creates in front of the barn. 

Enjoy the rain!!!!!  Wherever you are, and whenever it rains!

(Except if you live in Tacoma.  We used to live there and I can tell you whole-heartedly that I hated the rain.  Not when it rained 300 days a year.  So, I’ll rephrase the comment: If you live in a normally dry area, Enjoy The Rain!)

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IT’S RAINING!!!!!!

  1. marilan says:

    Sadly not a drop to drink here in the high desert plains. Celebrating for you though. Areas resembling the dust bowl are forming as the dirt forms drifts with this tough wind. Keep dancing.

Leave a Reply

