Tim’s Meat

If only you could taste these pictures.  But the pictures don’t do any justice to the meat.  They show you a slab of raw meat, then a cut into piece of cooked meat.  Great.  Big deal. 

Well, let me tell you the big deal.  This isn’t just any meat.  And, I should know, because I’ve been eating just any meat for too long now. 

This is Tim’s Meat.  Tim’s grass fed from start to finish raised in the mountains outside Cripple Creek T-Bone steak meat.  And it was DARN good.  Too good.  Almost better than chocolate.

So, instead of tasting the pictures, it’s unfortunate you couldn’t have tasted the MEAT.  But, had you been here to taste our sample of Tim’s meat, we probably wouldn’t have shared it with you anyway.  Well, OK, we might have let you smell it.  That would give you a pretty good idea how delicious it was.

Let me attempt to describe it.  When I opened the package, kind of a sweet smell came out.  Like the smell of when you pick a handful of grass and then rub it really hard between your hands.  That smell.

It was red.  Not brownish.  Not grayish.  Not greenish.  It was bright, healthy red.

When I cooked it as Tim suggested in a frying pan with a tiny bit of Olive Oil and some salt and pepper, it smelled like perfectly sautéed mushrooms.  Which, to me, is heavenly.  If you don’t like mushrooms, pick something else that you love and substitute it for the smell.  Then, go buy some mushrooms and give them another chance.

When I took it out of the pan and it was shiny and dripping with juices, and still smelling like grass and pasture and mushrooms and hearty meat, I thought I’d take a picture. 

But, I forgot and tasted it first.  I just couldn’t help myself.  Then, I remembered to take the picture. 

After I savored that first bite of soft, chewy, juicy, slightly salty, fresh grass fed T-Bone.

To Tim, I will forever be thankful.

Because, we have now decided to get either a half or whole cow from him at his next slaughter.  No more just any old meat for us, mister.  Thank you very much.

I can bid farewell to the feedlot smell coming out of the pan when I take the lid off to check the progress.  Seriously.  That’s what happens sometimes.  It’s disgusting.

Now, to greener pastures. 

Thanks, Tim.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tim’s Meat

  1. marilan says:

    Just wait till you try some of our pork. And we might have a deal for you on that…….BTW Gary has lost 17 #s in three weeks. Don’t know what I think yet.

Leave a Reply

