The Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Ever

My six-year-old turned seven.  He requested this delicious, chocolatey, fudgey cake with the most to-die-for chocolate frosting. 

I have had to limit the times per year that I make this cake, however, because the tire around my normally smallish waist is a direct result of eating it.

I could eat the whole thing. 

Warning:  Don’t make this cake if you are at risk for over-indulging in anything chocolate.  Or, do make it, just don’t blame me for the tire that will appear around your waist.  (Between you and me though, the tire is totally worth it.)

And, it actually looks good too!  Thanks to some baking tips a friend of mine has given me.

1.  Get cake pans whose sides are perpendicular to the bottom of the pan.  Not the typical ones that are kind of leaning out on the sides.

2.  Spray the pans and the parchment paper (once it’s in the pan, see below) with Pam spray for Baking.  For Baking is the key word here.

3.  Line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper or wax paper.  Just trace the outside of the pan on the paper and cut out a circle.  You’ll have to cut inside your traced circle to make sure it will fit inside.

4.  Put the layers of cake, once cooked and out of the pan, in the freezer.  For a day or a week.  Just so long as it’s frozen solid.  Then, and only then, frost it.  Freezing it makes sure that the frosting won’t peel the top and sides of the cake off.

And, voila!  It’s beautiful!……….

……..except that my son didn’t want to eat it on the night before his birthday, as we had planned (and when I frosted it) but next morning, the morning of his birthday.

After it had thawed.

And sunk.

The part I forgot to mention is that both layers fell in the oven.  I haven’t adjusted it for high altitude.  So, after I froze it, I just put the hollowed out sides together in the middle, and the flat side on the top!  Brilliant! 

However, when a frozen cake with a hollow center thaws, this is what happens.

So, we are one step away from chocolate cake perfection.  Anyone want to add their two bits to fix the recipe?  How do I adjust it for the altitude?  I’m all ears!

–  The Goat Chocolate Cheese Lady

RECIPE:

1 cup butter

1 3/4 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 cup and 1 Tbsp milk mixed with 2 Tbsp distilled white vinegar (takes the place of buttermilk, the milk will curdle…it’s supposed to.  Don’t worry.)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/2 all-purpose flour (I used hard red wheat that I ground in my grain mill)

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup boiling water

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Spray 2 layer cake pans with Pam and line the bottom with parchment paper.  Spray parchment paper.   Dust with flour.

2.  Sift together the cocoa, flour, baking soda and salt.   Set aside.

3.  Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in the eggs one at a time.  Alternately beat in the flour mixture and the milk/vinegar mixture, mixing just until incorporated.  Add the boiling water and beat for one full minute.  Pour evenly into cake pans.

4.  Bake in the preheated oven for 30-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.  Allow to cool.  Run a knife along the edge of the cake to release it from the sides of the pan.  Put a plate upside down on the top of the cake pan.  Hold it together with the cake pan like a sandwich.  Flip the whole thing over.  The cake should come out in one piece onto the plate.  Peel the parchment paper off.  Repeat with the other cake pan.  Wrap both cakes in saran wrap and freeze.

5.  After frozen, remove from freezer and frost.

THIS IS THE BEST CHOCOLATE FROSTING RECIPE I’VE EVER TASTED!!!!!!!!!!!

1/2 cup butter

1/4 shortening

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups confectioners sugar

2 tbsp milk

1 cup hot fudge topping (Smuckers or something like it…but just not the generic.  Trust me.)

1 tsp vanilla

1.  Cream butter and shortening.

2.  Sift cocoa and confectioners sugar and add to the creamed mixture.  Mix together adding 1 Tbsp at a time of milk to keep the mixture smooth.  Don’t add more that 1/4 cup of milk.

3.  Add hot fudge topping and vanilla.  Blend until smooth and creamy.

4.  Try not to eat all of the frosting before you get it on the cake.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Ever

  1. Nora says:

    Try cutting the baking soda in half. That has worked for all of my recipes.

    • Wow! Thanks everyone Lisa and Nora! I’ll try those tricks! I finally just fixed my pumpkin bread recipe that I changed to use only home ground whole wheat flour, so I’ll put that one up soon. Lindsey

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh, and reduce baking powder to about 1 t.

  3. Lisa says:

    Add an egg!

Leave a Reply

