Rain and Flame.

I was in the house with the boys.  The Animal Whisperer called me at 5:32pm from the barn (aaaaahhh, the benefits of cell phones) to tell me: “YOU BETTER GET DOWN HERE!!!”  I heard unnatural screaming in the background and needed no other explanation. 

Meanwhile, the boys were up to their wrists in “magic muck”…a drippy, sticky mixture of cornstarch and water, dyed green with way to much food coloring…in the kitchen.  I jumped off the chair I was using to strip wallpaper and launched into shouting mode: “GET YOUR HANDS WASHED, YOUR COATS ON AND GET DOWN TO THE BARN…I’M NOT WAITING FOR YOU!!!”  (I’m not waiting for you, a necessary addition to my orders, to stop the whining that occurs any time I don’t wait for them for anything.)

I whipped on my barn clothes, recalling a friend telling me she gets “up to her elbows” in birthing fluid.  I yanked the goat birthing medicine box (similar to the suitcase an expectant mother packs a week or so before her due date) out of the closet and raced to the barn.  It’s a wonder I didn’t trip over any of the dogs on my way.

When I got to the barn, Star was lying on her side screaming, The Animal Whisperer was squatting cheering her on, and there was a black (slimy) head sticking out of Star’s rear.  Oh, how I wish I had an epidural for her.  Ouch.  I could feel her pain.

The Animal Whisperer sent me on a mission for something, and when I arrived back 15 seconds later, the black head was an entire body glommed out on the ground and there was tiny white hoof poking out of Star.  You just wanted to grab it and pull it out to end Star’s suffering.  But you didn’t.  You ran to the gate to let the green handed boys in the barn.  When you got back, with boys in tow, you saw:

This.

A few minutes later, maybe 10, Flame stood up.

But Rain didn’t. 

She was the second one out and was squeezed inside Star so tight that the little joints above her front hooves don’t straighten out, so she stands on her ankles instead of her feet.  When she stands.  Which was hardly at all last night. 

Star is a good mama, she licked them and cleaned them up for a good couple hours (but, not one of the 3 goats figured out someone should have something to eat.) 

Meanwhile, the Peanut Gallery was locked outside the barn.

I never did get quite up to my elbows in birthing fluids, but did get a pretty dirty.   

Cutie pies.

And, finally, we moved them to the Royal Quarters.  A special stall The Animal Whisperer built in the barn with a heat lamp, clean straw, food and water for some family bonding time. 

And, that would be where, later, around 9:30, I single handedly wrestled Star into letting her babies learn to nurse. 

And sat on a hay bale in the light of the red heat bulb contemplating my life’s journey, and where it has led me. 

Staring straight into the face of a goat.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rain and Flame.

  1. Mallory says:

    Congrats to the new grandparents!!! They are cutties!!!

    • They are cute, aren’t they! Little Rain is still walking on her knuckles…despite Marilan’s advice, we haven’t splinted her yet, thinking she’ll improve in her walking on her own in a few days. We’ll see. They’re both doing well though, Rain finally started nursing and we’re leaving her down with mom and sis tonight for the first time. Cross your fingers they’ll do well all together! Lindsey

  2. Great Pics! Love the green hands too. Hey, here’s hoping you never have to GO IN after one but having goats and Nubians to boot I’m guessing you will sometime. They love multiples and big kids. Star can be happy and grateful there were two and girls at that . Bucks get big and a single buck even bigger. So glad you get to enjoy the rustic glow of the heat lamp as you stare into beautiful eyes, feeling warm and fuzzy. (and sticky, and stinky, and dirty, but it only happens once a year.) Congrats!

  3. Mary Menz says:

    Oh….what an awesome experience for you all! Thanks for sharing it with us! Hoping you all get a good night’s rest tonight, MM

  4. Shannon says:

    They are wonderful!! Congrats on the baby’s…I know this was one of your goals!! If you need any help/photos, let me know and I’m there! LOVE the green hands! XOXO

Leave a Reply

