Who’s Gonna Pop First?

Dottie or Star?  Both are with child.  What’s your guess?  One key piece of information…a goat’s gestation period is 5 months.  Ish.

DOTTIE:

Dottie was bred in October or early November…we’re not exactly sure.  She’s kidded (had babies) one time before, so she’s not a first timer.

 

View from Google Earth.

STAR:

We don’t know when Star was bred…but the woman we bought her from said she was due February 17.  (Yes, that would be last week.)  Star is a first timer.

View from the Sky Box.

What’s your guess? 

I’ll keep you posted.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who’s Gonna Pop First?

  1. PS. Goat trivia…the babies are located on the left side from your above view and the right side is the rumen bulge. When they prepare to exit they settle deep in the abdomen making both sides sink deepening the triangle you see on Stars side. It’s so sudden sometimes you think you might have missed them because you are use to how they look now. It’s just like people when the baby stops rolling and gets ready.

  2. I reserve my vote. The photos are not conclusive. I am guessing Dottie for at least twins and Star may only have a single. If Caren said the 17th and she didn’t settle the next cycle due date would be March 10. Goats take 150 days and I have had them as much as two weeks off but you never know. Mine last year that I had dates on were only off by 1 day either way. What’s the udders doing? Those are better tells than bellies any day.

  3. ecofarmer says:

    I don’t know… I guess probably Dottie, she looks more pregnant to me. I suspect that your Star has the same issue as at least one of our goats, and somehoe missed getting preggers… you should know for sure before much longer 🙂
    One thing we read that defintiely did seem to hold very true, wsa that as they get close to kidding, their back end “Scrunches forward” kinda like some weird pelvic thrist, but it is constant- the angle of their hips just forward of the tail does seem to get steeper, or shroter or something. Not guite sure how to describe it really, but Dottie is already starting to look like that a little. Star, not so much..
    Hopefully I am wrong and she’ll throw triplets!
    Good luck
    Richard

    • Thanks Richard! Star seems to finally look pregnant…more pregnant than she did when we got her. She’s just hanging low and her back is getting more swayed…daily. But, we’ll see! Dottie does look pretty much like a barrel. We’ll see who wins! I’m going down to milk now, I’ll see if there are any more signs to report…

      How did the barn raising go last weekend?

      Lindsey

Leave a Reply

