Back From The Dead.

That would be me.

I was two steps away from death yesterday morning, at least that’s how I felt.

I awoke in and out of cold sweats and hot fevers, needles of fever pains jabbing randomly at corners of my feet or unsuspecting parts of my hands, lungs that felt like they were being pressed from the inside out by a blazing hot griddle, a rattling cough from the depths of those burning lungs, a scratchy, sore throat and meat hooks that were useless (as were the rest of my muscles).

I had cancelled my classes the day before, suspecting there may not be any improvement to my condition from the previous 2 days.  I couldn’t even make it to the edge of the bed, let alone to the barn and back to milk.  I couldn’t speak at more than a whisper, so teaching two whole classes would have been less than successful.  I slept for most of the day.  The Animal Whisperer took exceptional care of the kids, the goats and the daily farm life while I wasted away in bed.  It was mostly a horrible experience.

Except for one thing:

The day was 67 degrees, so I opened our bedroom window a crack and got to feel the cool breeze blow over me all day long.  The lace curtains left to us by the previous owner, which most of the time I strongly dislike, looked beautiful billowing in the breeze, like something out of a sick room movie.

Anyway, I’m back.  From the dead.  From the depths of my four blankets piled thickly on top of me.  From the fog that was my mind (not that it changes much when I’m well).  From being on the brink of self-induced hospitalization.  From an out-of-body experience.  From subjecting the Animal Whisperer to milking Lilac.

I’m back.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  And, I need a new book to read.  Any suggestions along the lines of Omnivore’s Dilemma or Animal, Vegetable, Miracle?

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Milking, Opinion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back From The Dead.

  1. ecofarmer says:

    Hey Lindsey
    Glad to hear you’re better.
    As to the books, I don’t know if you’ve read either of the Nearings books- Living the Good Life or Continuing the Good Life (both repackaged together and available at ppld as The Good Life), but they are good. Sometimes a little dense, but Scott & Helen Nearing were the original countrified city folk- left NYC and moved to vermont and then to maine and recorded more than 5 decades of their experience. More storybook style, ala Animal,Vegetable,Miracle…
    Do be careful with Joel Salatin’s books- he is passionate and well informed and will quickly make you want to try all kinds of stuff that doesn’t quite fit the small acreage. You’ll be looking for pasture and pigs and all kinds of stuff. A good and very entertaining read, however. We enjoyed his newest- the Sheer Ecstacy of being a Lunatic Farmer- from ppld as well, though there was a little wait.
    As a side note, I just met Kelly and Abi from Cloud 9 farms in Penrose. They were in one of your early cheese classes. Of course they had lots of great things to say about your class, and you as well. Just wanted to let you know that.
    They are planning on coming out to our homestead this weekend to help us build an earthbag barn for our llama boys.
    info at greendesertecofarm.com/2011/01/16/earthbag-building-extravaganza/
    Richard

    • I know what you mean about getting excited about everything ala Joel Salatin style. I have a few of his books on hold now at the library and I’ll check out the The Good Life. That does sound really interesting! I’m getting ready to check out your site, too. Yes! Abi and Kelly came to a class and they were so much fun! I’ve been reading Abi’s blog too, she’s a great writer and takes great pictures! Good luck on your lama house!

      Lindsey

  2. Diana says:

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by a long shot! Amazing and inspirational! And I love Michale Pollan so it would be hard for me to vote for something other than one of his books. And I agree about the Salatin books – amazing! Feel better!

  3. Melina says:

    Try any of Joel Salatin’s books. Great inspiration for large or small operations, and the king of direct-to-customer selling.
    Glad to hear you’re going to make it.

Leave a Reply

