I’m ruined.

Any self-respecting Costco shopper knows about the samples.  And often plans their shopping trip around the samples.  I.E. show up when there are the most samples. 

I used to be self-respecting.  Now, I’m ruined.  And, I just realized it today.  About 30 minutes ago, while (guiltily) putting down the last of my Costco samples.

The ruination had been gradual.  But, lately, it’s accelerating more rapidly.  There is no medicine to cure it.

The cause:  I’ve been reading. 

The Omnivore’s Dilemma. 

 Product Image The Omnivore's Dilemma (Reprint) (Paperback)

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle By Barbara Kingsolver, Camille Kingsolver, Steven L. Hopp

Those books have been so eye opening and so motivating, that I have actually lost my palate for Costco samples.  Some might say I’ve been liberated. 

I will uphold that I am ruined. 

I, the mother who took her 6-year-old son (who was as excited as I), to the grand opening of the new store a few months ago…at 8:00 am sharp…to partake in the deluge of oversized grand opening day samples.  We were even in the Gazette. 

We were the small purple and red clothed figures in the background rapidly scouting out the next sample table.  Samples were our breakfast.  I was proud to report to anyone who cared (or didn’t care) that I was one of the first people to the NEW Costco.

That was then.  This is now.

After reading the aforementioned books, I have begun noticing all of the corn, or processed derivations of corn, that are in the majority of foods available in any food store.  I have caused my family to eat even less industrialized food than we did before, which wasn’t that much.  But, now, instead of going to Costco to enjoy the samples, of which there were many today, with each bite, I think to myself…I wonder how many feet of manure this beef stood in?  I wonder how many (corn derived?) preservatives are in this mozzarella cheese to cause it to be good until the end of next month.  I wonder what goes into the Yoplait Yogurt that makes it hold together so smoothly and taste so sickly strawberry-y. 

I’m ruined I tell ya.

Not to mention the intestinal burning war that began in my lower abdominal cavity on the way home.  Some type of flame throwing artillery began launching from one side of my intestines to the other, then the enemy would fire back with acid filled firehose.  And, back and forth.  And back and forth.  And, as I write, it continues.

I’ve been ruined.

Or, I’ve been liberated.  I’m starting to think that’s actually the case.

Liberated from thinking that Honey Nut Cheerios are good for you (how many ingredients on the label can you not understand?)  From thinking that grocery store yogurt is wholesome (what were those cows fed [corn, but they are meant to eat grass] and with how many other thousands of cows did they live in their tightly confined feed lot?)  From wanting to buy a big, fat, juicy rotisserie chicken (how much bloody stool did it expel in its 6 or 7 weeks of never-exposed-to-sunlight life?)

So.  OK.  I’m liberated.

And, lucky.  That I can raise some of my own food.  That we choose to raise our own food.  And, that we continue to increase the amount and type of food that we raise.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, Milking, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m ruined.

  1. We started out thinking small with lettuce, greens and radishes, fast short crops but realized things like bush beans and peas are annuals and only require about 6 inches of fresh dirt each year so why not try them too. I froze the beans and we grew tomatoes in buckets and canned them. This year I plan to put peas in raised planter boxes like the plastic balcony boxes I used in Germany (6ft x 6″wd x 8″deep) mount them up on a wall of my garage and let them trail down for easier picking and no support needed yet again I foil the rabbits and gophers (and any free range chickens), all while saving my bad back more work. The main reasons for my raised beds.

  2. Bonnie Simon says:

    I read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle a couple years ago. I think that was what inspired me to raise my own chickens and attempt to grow a vegetable garden in the same yard. So far, it’s resulted in well-fed chickens.

    It’s been a gradual change, but I do almost all my own cooking now. The pantry hardly has anything with an unrecognizable ingredient. I buy meat from local producers in bulk and vegetables from the local CSAs whenever possible. We eat nearly as well as the chickens.

  3. You are entirely right in the fight you fight. I previously bought some orange cups thrilled that it said no sugar added only to find a huge list of sweetening ingredients I can’t decipher so today I looked again and found packed in 100% juice (grape juice mind you not orange??) but still you have to wonder about everything out there. We are the fortunate ones to have a chance to grow our own food. I hope everyone knows it doesn’t take an acre just a window box or pot. People in Germany laughed at my balcony surrounded by planter boxes of green beans. I laughed at their empty ones all winter.

    • YOU ARE SO RIGHT! It doesn’t take an acre or even a yard, for that matter, to grow your own food! If you want to start, but don’t know how, or can’t bite off a whole bunch of new work…start small. Plant a pot or two of vegetables on your balcony. Or, if you so want to go for it, plant tons of pots on your balcony. Or your patio. Or you windowsill. Or, wherever you can dream up space to start growing your own food! And, definately shop at farmer’s markets that you are sure sell LOCALLY grown food! (There are farmer’s markets that sell California grown food. Kind of defeats the purpose.) How did you grow things on your balcony in Germany and what did you grow, Marilan?

      Lindsey

Leave a Reply

