Snack.

I haven’t been able to get it off my mind.  When that happens, you better brace yourself.  Or turn off your computer now.  Because you’re in for a FULL DOSE of my opinion about snack.  In the famous (in my family at least) words of one of my dear aunts, who shall remain unnamed, after she raked someone or something over the coals years ago then stated, “But I’m not judgemental”, I’ll state that,

For The Record: I Am.

And it has to do with preschool snack.  Yes, I’m aware that may not be at the top of your mind today, but it has returned to the top of mine.

My three-year-old returned to school today, after his Christmas Vacation.  And, 15 minutes before he had to be at school I remembered with a silent (hopefully?) “OH SH*#!” that it was his day to bring snack.  I had kept the preschool’s snack basket for the whole break to be sure I would remember about snack day.  Well, that did the trick.  I remembered, 15 minutes ahead of the deadline.  Here were my options: 

1.  Race to the grocery store.  Buy 2 food groups and 1 jug of milk or juice.  Race back to school, quickly package the snacks in 19 ziploc baggies.  Deliver.  Not get anything else done that was on my schedule of child-less-ness this morning.

2.  Figure out something to make, in 15 minutes, at home, that covered the snack basket’s instruction list:  2 food groups and milk, chocolate milk or 100% juice. 

Not enough time to make zucchini bread, my usual snack item.  No juice in the house.  Plenty of raw goat’s milk, but that’s a little iffy sending it to the public school preschool.  Parents might feel like we’d just sent their kids tequila for snack. 

But, tequila is less heavily regulated than Raw Milk.

Watch out, I’m warming up. 

I saw the loaf of bread on the counter.  The one I made from wheat I ground in my grain mill.  I thought of the apricot jam, that I made from apricots I picked this summer, in the refrigerator.  I saw 5 apples in the fruit basket.  So, I determined, I would whip up a healthy snack.  I made little preschool sized jelly sandwiches and put the five apples in the basket for the teachers to cut up at snack time. 

But what to do for the drink?  As you may have noticed, I prefer to do things myself.  I don’t prefer to spend any unnecessary money at the grocery store.  Especially on Milk from Ohio or 100% juice of any kind.  So, thinking of the nearly 10 pounds of carrots I brought home from the warehouse store the other day…I’ll see if I can make carrot juice that, just maybe, preschoolers would drink. 

I threw 5 carrots in the Vitamix (a major investment 10 years ago…but totally worth it and still going strong) and filled it up with water and added about 1 cup of organic sugar.

I strained it into a 1/2 gallon jar after tasting it and determining it might (not) pass for orange koolaid.  The Animal Whisperer took the snack basket and the carrot juice with him when he took the kids to school.

Why, you might ask, would I send such a snack? 

Well, I might answer, I BELIEVE IN IT.

About 2 or 3 weeks before Christmas break, I was picking up my 3-year-old from school and overheard the teacher tell one of the other moms, “The kids just LOVED your snack today!” 

Wow!  I thought, that’s impressive!

“What was it?” I smiled and asked.

“Fruity Pebbles and Pudding,”  was the response.

My mind slammed shut instantly.  My eyes bugged out.  My mouth spoke: 

“Fruity Pebbles and Pudding???”

I left the room, at first speechless, then on the way home, fuming mad.

Why In The Name Of All The Allergic, Asthmatic, Diabetic, Overweight, Video Game Playing, Innocent Kids In Our Country are we allowing them to be served Fruity Pebbles and Pudding at school?????? 

Sure!  Of course they love it!  It’s loaded with sugar and chemicals!  Sure!  Their friends will love it!  It’s loaded with sugar and chemicals!  I mean, have you checked out a ziploc baggie of Fruity Pebbles lately?  They are all colors of the chemically produced rainbow and contain not a lick of fruit.

And, pudding?  Yes, it may contain milk.  But, I wouldn’t call it a snack to promote calm, ready to learn, healthy kids.

I fumed for about 3 days, deciding what to do about it.  I am not one for confrontation and prefer to have my thoughts organized and in taking after my mom, start the conversation about the subject to which I object with, “Help Me Understand…”

And so I did.

“Help me understand why it’s OK to bring Fruity Pebbles and Pudding for snack?”

The good news is, the teacher responded, it’s not.  The school snack basket list says “bring items from 2 food groups, make it nutritious, and bring milk, chocolate milk, or 100% juice.”

The food groups recommended on the list contain:  Corndogs, Pizza Bites, Crackers, Fruit Snacks, Pudding, Apples, Bananas, Carrots with Ranch Dip, Dried Fruit, Celery, Cheese, Grapes, to name some of them.  There are marks next to the items that have been brought in, indicating how many times they have been brought in. 

Crackers wins in the food category.

Juice wins in the drink category.  Chocolate Milk is second.  I think Water should win.  It’s not on the list.

There are many healthy snack options listed on the Snack Basket list, so it’s not all the school’s fault, although I offered my help and suggestions for changing the list.  I don’t agree that things like pudding, corn dogs, fruit snacks and pizza bites should be on the list. 

The rest of the problem lies with the parents!  Some of the parents are sending Corn Dogs!  (But, it’s meat!)  And Pizza Bites!  (But they have tomato and cheese!)  And Fruit Snacks!  (But they are fortified with vitamins!)

In attempting to give them the benefit of the doubt, I thought, well, maybe many of the parents (and now we’re getting into a bigger picture of society, not just preschool) can’t afford healthy food.  But, the day of my conversation with the teacher, I had just bought enough bananas for the whole class for $1.25.  Cheaper than a box of Fruity Pebbles.  Definitely cheaper than 19 cups of pudding.

In Food, Inc., and The Omnivore’s Dilemma they talk about a problem with the system .  Typically, unhealthy foods are cheaper than healthy foods.  Junk foods are advertised incessantly on TV, so of course they are what come to kid’s and adult’s minds first.  It is much quicker to buy a box of Fruity Pebbles than make your own bread and jam.  Or, to cut up carrots or apples.  The government subsidizes corn, which, in some form, is in most of all unhealthy junk food.  So, sure, it’s the system.

BUT…if we continue to blame it on the system, which we know will only change VERY slowly or not at all, we continue to give ourselves and excuse to fail.  We are victims of the system.  We eat junk food, our kids get diabetes, asthma and overweight.  We get overweight.

This morning, I chose NOT to wait for the system to change.  The only way things will change is if I do.  If YOU do.  And YOU and YOU and YOU.

I will not be waiting for the system, the government, the school, the TV to create a mass change of eating habits.  This morning, I created a change of eating habits for the kids at preschool.

Now, I am not living inside a bubble.  I am certainly aware that many of them may not have liked it.  They may not have tasted it.  They may not have drunk the carrot juice.  But, I know I sent a healthy snack, that, if they ate it, would fill them up, give them energy, and contained no unknown chemicals, dyes or fertilizers.

Maybe, if two of them liked it, they’ll go home and say to their moms and dads, “Can you make me a sandwich like I had at school?”  or, “Can you make me some of that carrot juice I had at school?” 

Maybe it will get the teachers, the kids and the parents thinking.

Maybe it won’t.

The only one thing I can be sure of is that my son ate it.  He’s used to eating it at home. 

That’s how it has to start. 

Now, I’ll take 5 deep breaths. 

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Bread Making, Farm Life, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Snack.

  1. Randi c says:

    Lindsey,

    Love your efforts, keep it up. I had a somewhat similar experience in that I too tried to provide a healthy Birthday snack for my preschooler.. Instead of heavily laden sugar cupcakes, I made bran muffins with raisins and cream cheese frosting with a tad of agave for sweetener. I got to stay to see the reaction…the kids were so excited as they sat in their circle on the floor as I placed the yummy looking “cupcakes” on each plate.
    When the signal was given they rushed to their seats and took a gigantic bite of their muffin. While my daughter sat happily munching down on hers, the rest of the muffins sat untouched. The teacher tried to make excuses to make me feel better.. I told I understood. Fast forward: we moved from that state and city to our present state and city and the kindergarten my daughter attended was served the exact same Birthday snack and she and her class not only ate the whole muffin, but asked for more! Which is one of the reasons we put her in that school! so very refreshing.
    good luck, don’t give up. Supporting you all the way.

    Randi

    • Hi Randi!

      It’s great to hear from you! We have always chosen to send our kids to the local neighborhood school, instead of driving to a school farther away. So, we get what we get. We are fortunate, the school our kids go to is a good school…however, if the Public Montessori school in town was our neighborhood school, for example, we would see food choices much more similar to ours. So, I sometimes wonder…would it be better for them to go to a school where there are more like minded adults and kids…or keep them in a school where there aren’t as many. If they went to the other school, maybe, the food choices would be more consistently healthy. However, by going to school where they do…we are able to make the best of the setting we’re in. We can see and help change the problem head on. We can help educate by example.

      Lindsey

  2. Rachel says:

    Lindsey – you are ABSOLUTELY right on the money. Keep fighting and maybe, just maybe, some of the parents with kids who have ADD or ADHD or all the other assorted ailments that exist today, will stop and THINK about the junk they are putting into their kid’s bodies, and stop shopping the center of the grocery store when they have to bring snack to school to put into all the other kids mouths. Fight the good fight. You are 100 percent correct.

    • A little bit of good news resulting from yesterday’s snack…about 70% of the kids tasted…and liked…the carrot juice. About 25% asked for more. All of them ate their sandwiches and apples. The teachers liked the carrot juice and the principle liked it too! The teacher has changed the snack instruction list on the basket to remove a few unhealthy things…fruit snacks (i.e. gummy snacks) are gone…but pizza bites, corn dogs and pudding remain.

      Lindsey

      • Michelle in Colorado says:

        The thing with the pudding is that people are not making it from scratch. They are buying the ready made with everything in it.

        Could you send yogurt you made with a jam to sweeten.

  3. Lori Reichard says:

    I’m glad to hear that SOMEONE out there other than me is concerned about what their kids consume. There’s too much propaganda out there about how GREAT cow’s milk is for us and how totally harmless high fructose corn syrup is. You know there’s something wrong when you see SO many ads for this stuff.

    A new book just released last November – Whitewash: The Disturbing Truth About Cow’s Milk and Your Health by Joseph Keon – talks about the dangers of cow’s milk. More “must read” books include The Mad Cowboy by Howard F. Lyman and The China Study by T. Colin Campbell and Thomas M. Campbell II. These books are total eye-openers!

  4. YOU GO GIRL! I’d go so far as to send my own snacks with my son to include some fresh bread, goat yogurt, strawberry milk (or any other berry) and maybe even offer to make end of year Goat ice cream custard for the summer party later. Kids will be wanting to trade by the time it’s all over with. Don’t let others polute what you want for your own kids. Remember the yoplait cups too;-)

Leave a Reply

