Dream List

Here is my 2010 Dream List.  I made it last year on New Year’s Day.  I accomplished many of the things on it, not all.  And, that’s the point.  If I had bought a new dining room table, that would have been nice, but Oh Well.  I did lots of the other things on there.  When you make a Dream List, it is a guide for you…it doesn’t mean you have to be mad at yourself if you don’t accomplish it all.  That’s what my mom taught me.  Thanks for the advice, Mom.

Things I did do!:  I started 200 plants indoors, I was happy (thanks, in large part to my antidepressant), Started an orchard (which means I dug one hole), Had A Bang Up Fourth Of July Party!, Joined the pool, Cured Depression (thanks again to Citalopram), Grew, Ate and Preserved 9 months of produce!!

Today, I’ll start 2011’s Dream List.  So, I figure, I leave my Dream List out on the mantel all year long for me and all to see, why not go ahead and show it to the world?  Or at least my beloved Goat Cheese Lady friends. 

Here goes:  Plant at least 6 fruit trees.  Grow, Eat, Harvest and Preserve 9 months worth of produce.  Grow the garden in Raised Beds. Can 25 Pints of Tomatoes.  Grow and Slaughter 30 chickens.  Paint Every Room In The House.  Organize Every Room In The House.  Raise and Have Slaughtered or Buy and Have Slaughtered our own Pig.  Permaculture Our Land.  Buy More Land Adjacent To Our House.  Get 3 Gallons Per Day of Milk.  Make Hard Cheeses.

When I actually write it down on paper and decorate it (my boys and I do it together…they make their own lists too) I may remove or add things.  But, this is how it starts. 

Now it’s Your Turn!!  Put down ideas.  Make your Dream List!! 

Happy New Year!!!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  You’ll see that I did not dream of becoming The Goat Cheese Lady.  That happened without the use of my Dream List.  Whew!!  Thank goodness it did!  I’m sure enjoying it!  Thanks to all of you for supporting my website and taking classes last year.  I hope to see or hear from you in 2011!!!

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, Milking, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

