How I Make Applesauce

This is, perhaps, the most delicious applesauce I’ve ever made.  If I do say so myself.

It starts with these fresh Cameo apples I picked from the tree in my yard. 

The tree automatically bar codes the fruit in case I want to sell a bushel to King Soopers.

My plan was to use my friend’s apple corer peeler to make the whole process easier, but the Cameo apples were too soft and the 3 pronged poker thing just kept spinning without cutting the apple. 

If what I just explained sounded like French, it is because you have never seen an apple peeler corer.  It could be mistaken for a 17th century torture device.

Although softish, the apples are SOOOOO sweet…so the process continued, but more manually than mechanised.

I had a flash back to the crab apple days.

I filled a stew pot with the apples (about 10 or 15 pounds of apples), then dumped on cinnamon and sugar.  About 1/4 to 1/2 cup cinnamon and only about 1/2 cup of sugar for the whole pot!!  (The last batch I made from sour apples needed about 2-3 cups of sugar!)

Add about 4 cups of water, or enough to fill the pot 3-4″ so the apples don’t scald to the bottom.  Turn the burner on medium or medium high.  Cover.  Stir every so often and check to make sure there’s still enough liquid in there that they don’t burn.  They should be a little liquidy so that when you put them in the blender, they’ll suck down into the blender and blend.

After about 45-60 minutes they had reduced down to about half the amount they had been.  The skins were peeling off and the apples were all mushy.  That’s when you know you’re done.

I have a Vitamix, otherwise known as a blender that doubles as a driving lawnmower engine.  I’ve had it for 10 years!  It’s still going strong.  It better.  It cost a lot.

Anyway, put the apples in a blender and blend to the consistency you want.

Then package it up!  Can it, freeze it, eat it warm right out of the pot, make it into popsicles, use it to replace 1/2 the oil in baking.

Whatever you do, savor it.  It is delicious.

And, what made it were the Cameo apples.  I’ve done applesauce with lots of different kinds of apples in the past, but this is by far the best!

Enjoy!

–  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

