What Was Life Like Before Goats?

Well, let’s see.  We had less goat’s milk.  I mean, we had NO goat’s milk.  We had quickly rotting and well-traveled $1.89 a gallon grocery store milk.  I slept in on weekends, we didn’t have a milking curfew.  I planted the garden and cooked the eggs.  That’s the work I did on the farm.  The Animal Whisperer did the rest.  I took the kids to the pool, I went to yoga, we went camping for the weekend, I did my part of our other business…stuff like that. 

And not once did I fathom that at some point in my near future, I would be thankful for empty jars.  And jars of milk. 

Jars are like gold.  You don’t give them away.  You hoard them.  You would rather give the milk away in Ziploc bags than in one of your precious jars.

But:  MORE PRECIOUS THAN JARS IS MILK IN THE JARS.

Not even when I dreamed of being Laura Ingalls did I think I’d EVER be thankful for jars or jars full of goat’s milk.   

Now, I am.

I make cheese, I sell cheese, we drink the milk, we sell goat’s milk shares and I give cheese making classes.  That means I need a lot of milk. 

We started with 2 goats.  That was more than enough. 

Until the day I learned to make cheese. 

Our family’s milk supply has been endangered ever since. 

Canela and Lilac, milked twice a day, were giving me 1 1/2 gallons per day.  Until they found out I really needed that much.  That’s when they had a meeting and decided to slow down.  To stop on the extreme milk production.  To relax a little and possibly go on vacation.

With cheese and milk customers and my own goat’s milk and goat cheese dependant family, Their Plan Did Not Sit Well With Me.

Enter:  Lucy.

The sweetest goat at the farm where we bought her, but as low woman on the totem pole there, she is now extremely bitter about it and has the equivalent of Small Man’s Syndrome.  

Now, I repeatedly have to refrain from spewing out cuss words at her and calling her the word used for a female dog.  She has nearly broken my hand, she’s stubborn as a mule, she’s strong, she’s forceful, she’s got her own agenda and her own opinion, she won’t get on the milk stand, she won’t get off the milk stand, she kicks, she bleats, she’s a pain in the $@*#.

But, thanks to Lucy, our milk production is back up. 

And for that I am thankful.

4 things to note: 

1.  Each jar is 1/2 gallon.

2.  Three of the jars are full.

3.  The fourth jar has some in it.

4.  They all are marked 10/18.  Today.  The same day.

A little over 1 1/2 gallons in the SAME DAY!!!

So, YES, I am thankful for jars, milk, and goats, even Lucy.

My life has never been better.  And I mean it.

–  The Goat Cheese Lady.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

