Harvest.

We had enough of these cukes to make my first ever 8 jars of pickles!  (Potatoes not included.  Would that be potatos or potatoes or potatoes or potatos?  I’m old enough to remember that debate and old enough to forget how to spell it.)

The little blackish looking thing to the far right under the red potato is a tiny version of a Majestic Purple potato.  Best kind of potato I’ve had.  You gotta try ’em.

They make good blue french fries. 

That’s the trick, by the way, call them BLUE FRENCH FRIES.  Never refer to a potato to kids under 6 as a POTATO.  In my experience, they won’t make it anywhere near their mouths.  You MUST call any type of potato a french fry.  No matter what color it is or how it is cooked. 

OK.  I guess I wouldn’t call mashed potatoes, potatos, potatoes french fries.  That would be a little ridiculous.  You would lose all trust from your children and you could never successfully lie to them again. 

I mean persuade. 

Did I say lie?  I really didn’t mean that. 

My youngest son kindly offered to take pictures of 49 things throughout the house: This is one I didn’t delete. 

He is showing great promise as a photographer, despite his wee 3 years of life.

Celebrity, Early Girl, Zapotec Pink and Radiator Charlie’s Mortgage Lifter Tomatoes. 

(Tomatoes, tomatos, tomatoes, tomatos?)

Started them all from seeds in my own basement.  I really like the name Radiator Charlie’s Mortgage Lifter tomato.  You just have to have tomatoes, tomatos, tomatoes with names like that.  It did not, however, lift my mortgage.  Still have it. 

Maybe I need to add more goat manure and chicken poop next year.

Increased the pear harvest from 2 pears last year to this many this year…minus quite a few that the deer got. 

Also increased our harvest of worms in said pears. 

Not to worry though, you can still use them.  Yes, calling all city folk with forgotten fruit trees in your yards….You can use them.  If you don’t want to, just let me know and I’ll use them. 

You just cut out the bad parts, hope you don’t sever a worm in the process just because that’s really gross, and you tolerate hearing your 6-year-old say… “Moooooommmmm…does thiiiissss one have a worm in it????”  after giving him a pristine portion of the now clean pear.  (There’s just no appreciation for how much a mom works, is there.)

Each worm will met his next life in the compost pile, or better yet, in the stomach of one of the chickens.

The Animal Whisperer made this Rainbow Soup for dinner one night recently.

Here’s part of lunch today.  Those are not pear worms either.  They are blackened onion shreds.

My sister harvested her 26 days ago.

She’s cuter than the zucchinis, just about as big too.

And, she’s WAY cuter than me. 

Although I hate to admit it.

-The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Spell check says it’s tomatoes and potatoes.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Harvest.

  1. Rachel says:

    Lindsey! She is such a little pumpkin. Thank you for posting her picture! And I love the story about bringing home the goats. Very funny!!!

Leave a Reply

