Liability? What Liability?

We’ve known ever since we moved in that the deck rail was a little wobbly.  We just level-headedly warn any person who comes to our house that they…and especially their children…should stay safely away from the railing.  And, they should watch out for that one hole in the deck and avoid stepping on the bouncy section of the deck.  We confidently advise visitors that we do believe that the deck railing was put on, leaning out, on purpose. 

That is…until the other night.

We had some friends over, 20 to be exact.  It was like a wave when it happened.

It was like slow motion.  Watching a clip in a movie you swear will never happen to you.

Then it does.

Starting with Seth and Jenny, our friends raced to the railing to catch site of the bear.  It has been here once and is the stuff of folklore.  They ran to the railing.  The swarmed to the railing.  They pushed on the railing.  They swelled.  The Animal Whisperer and I yelled for them to stop.  To not let the excitement of the moment overcome them.

They Did Not Listen.

Unfortunately.

 

17 of them went through the railing.  They plummeted to the ground.  We had ambulances here.  Fire engines.  Neighbors.  Well wishers.  The bear.  His friends.

OK.  Not really.

But it is the stuff of the Animal Whisperer’s nightmares.

So he’s fixing it.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. At first I was a city girl. Then I was an urban farmgirl, attempting to balance city and farm life. Now, after moving to the country, I have embarked on life as a rural farmgirl, complete with my husband, the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, a herd of milking goats, and a flock of egg-laying chickens. Coyotes, mice, country dogs and prairie dogs are frequent visitors. Just 45 minutes north is Colorado Springs, the setting for our first six years in the goat world. Our family. Our city friends. Our introduction to cheesemaking. But we...and our growing farm and soon-to-be creamery...have set up shop down off of Highway 115 in Penrose, Colorado.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Liability? What Liability?

  1. Pingback: Why I Am (NOT) The Animal Whisperer. | The Goat Cheese Lady

  2. Anita Valaer says:

    Well, I thought I did leave a comment, but then my fingers and the mouse got tangled up and I found myself back on Craig’s
    list saying,”What the heck”! I went on your site because my brother in Frisco, in the mountains, has goats and they are really
    babies! I thoroughly enjoyed your story and the pictures and I would love to take one of your classes, if I can schedule it. I
    can’t take this one, and it would be neat if my sister-in-law could come down and take it with me. Anyway, “thanks for the
    memories, yours that is!

    • Anita, It is great to hear from you! I’ll look forward to meeting you and your sister-in-law! Our next class is next Tuesday, Oct 5, from 8:15 to 12:30. If that doesn’t work for you, let me know what would and we’ll get something scheduled! Thanks, Lindsey

Leave a Reply

