Which Would Be Easier For You: Cut Out Vanilla or Cut Out Gluten?

Click Here To Buy Goat Milk Soap and Milk Lotion!

I’ve heard conversations between people about how hard it would be not to eat foods containing gluten.  They just can’t stand the idea of not eating bread!  It would be SOOO hard!  They LOVE bread, they don’t know HOW they could stop eating it if they were told they had to.

For the past three-ish weeks, I haven’t eaten bread.  Or anything with gluten in it due to the blood food allergy test I underwent a few weeks ago.

As you know, I came into this “diet” of avoiding all foods my blood shows allergies to, including avoiding gluten, because I have felt so exhausted that I can hardly (and sometimes don’t) get out of bed all day.  But, when you feel so horrible, you’ll do anything to fix it and, actually, not eating gluten has not been too bad.  I feel the occasional pang for an oreo and find it incredibly odd that red licorice is made with wheat flour, but it’s not killing me.

IMG_0010

Not eating gluten, almonds, kale, pineapple, eggs, cow’s milk, cottage cheese, green, black and red beans, and beef has not been hard at all.

But who knew VANILLA would be SO HARD?  I’m actually starting to hate the sight of the word “Vanilla”!!

130

If I didn’t love chocolate, avoiding vanilla would not be an issue and, as it turns out I’m not allergic to chocolate, YEAH!!!  But, VANILLA is in EVERY chocolate and every gluten, dairy and egg free cookie I can get my hot little hands on!

131

Therefore, nearly successfully preventing me from eating my favorite thing: chocolate.

I told you I could eat Nutella though, remember?  WRONG.  Bummer!!!  It doesn’t have vanilla in it, no siree, but it does have cow’s milk.  Mark that one off the list.

When given lemons, make lemonade, so the saying goes.  As applied to chocolate, it goes like this:  when given a bar of 100% cacao, melt it down and add sugar.  Vanilla free chocolate.

As for the first three weeks of being gluten, beef, almond, kale, pineapple, chicken egg, cow’s milk, cottage cheese, green, black and red bean AND vanilla free, to combat my fatigue, the jury’s still out.  I’ve also slightly decreased my antidepressant dose and have started hormone creams (all under the watch of the same doctor).  I felt pretty good on days 1-4, was 100% exhausted on days 5 and 6, had great energy days 7-15 and this afternoon (day 16) am pretty tired.  I’ll keep letting you know how things are going.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  If this were a cloud, the silver lining is that I’ve never gotten so much done as I did on days 7-15!  Amazing when you can stay awake all day how much gets accomplished!

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Which Would Be Easier For You: Cut Out Vanilla or Cut Out Gluten?

  1. Donna says:

    Lindsay, are you sure you don’t have fibromyalgia (sp) never could spell the word right :) You have some of the same symptoms as if this is what you have. My mother is gluten intolerant and she can eat some of the things you cannot. But then again everyone is different. Just hope you get the right dx. It is no fun being sick and tired of being sick and tired! Hoping the best for you!

    • Donna, No, I’m not sure of anything :) ! I don’t have the flulike aches that are associated with fibromyalgia, so I don’t think that’s it, but you never know. I appreciate the thought.

      Lindsey

      >

      • Sandy says:

        I, too, was sick and tired of being sick and tired. Went on Doug Kaufmann’s Phase One diet. On this diet, you pretty much can’t eat anything!! Meats, eggs, and vegetables, but not potatoes. No grains, no legumes, no sugars, no fruits except for Granny Smith apples. He’s very interesting – you should check him out. http://www.knowthecause.com Once I followed his diet, I wasn’t tired anymore! And when I cheat on my diet, I dearly pay for it! I have figured out that sugar is the root of all evil in my body!!

        I have been told that I have fibromyalgia, but I don’t have the flulike symptoms either. Push on the pressure points areas. You can find a “map” of them online. Points I never even dreamed would hurt, but they are excruciating to the touch!! Who knew?!

        • Sandy says:

          I have to add that if you go to Doug Kaufmann’s website, go to “get started”, then click on About Doug Kaufmann. Right away, he’s talking about leaking gut. Ties right in with your diagnosis!

Leave a Reply

