What Would You Do?

If someone said you couldn’t eat gluten, eggs, black beans, red beans, green beans, vanilla, almonds, mushrooms, pineapple, beef or kale, OR drink cow’s milk or beer, what would YOU do?

Really.  Think about that for a second.

Gluten (i.e. bread, pancakes, cookies, muffins, flour tortillas, cookies, cookies, cookies).

Eggs.  From chickens.

Beef.  It’s what’s for dinner.

Beans.

Cow’s Milk.

Vanilla – it’s in ice cream, milk shakes, cookies, and even in chocolate chips!

Almonds.

Kale – the main ingredient in Kale Chips.

Beer.  Beer.  Beer.

What Would You Do?  Would you mourn your loss or would you celebrate the fact that you can still eat and drink all kinds of other things, including coffee, goat milk and chocolate?

That’s the question I was confronted with yesterday.  According to my doctor and after extensive blood tests, those are the things that, if I want to stop living a life on the roller coaster of  can’t-get-out-of-bed exhaustion, I have to stop eating.  Some for three months.  Some for one year.  Some forever.

And I celebrated!!!!!  I have figured out that because of this extreme, overpowering exhaustion, I lose one full month per year in days where I HAVE TO SLEEP.  When you lose as much time as that and feel as bad as I do on those days, you’ll do anything.  Including stop eating bread (yes, even my homemade bread), cookies and chocolate chips (because they contain vanilla).

I will no longer eat chicken eggs.  I’m allowed to eat duck eggs though, so I’ve already requested The Animal Whisperer get me some ducks.

I will not drink beer.  The good news here is, I hate beer.

I will stop eating chocolate chips with my coffee, and I have already determined that Nutella has no vanilla in it…so here comes afternoons with a spoonful of Nutella (instead of a handful of chocolate chips) with my coffee!

I can give up almonds.  That won’t be life changing.

I haven’t purposely drunk cow’s milk in years, giving it up shouldn’t be a problem, seeing that all things goat’s milk is our profession.

But the best news I found out yesterday, and what I was steeling myself against, is that I can still drink coffee and I can still drink goat’s milk and I can still eat (vanilla free) chocolate!!!

So I’m celebrating!  And crossing all of my fingers and toes that this will be a life changing, energy lifting and mood stabilizing endeavor!

Thanks for listening.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

 

 

 

 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Bread Making, chickens, classes, Farm Life, goats, Milking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Marsha Lee says:

    Lindsey, I am thrilled that you have a plan for taking charge of your own health. It sounds like it will be worth the hard work if these changes make you feel better. I admire you for your commitment…I’ll be looking forward to hearing how it is going! Love, Aunt Marsha

  2. Linnea says:

    What doctor did you see!? I’m curious to look into the test for myself.

  3. lawmoss says:

    I am very interested in your “fatigue” situation and your foods to avoid – do you have a “diagnosis” for this problem? If you are going to be updating via newsletter, I am satisfied to wait on those. Claudia in KS (always enjoys your newsletters)

  4. Tamara Fisher says:

    Wow! Was it determined that these are things you have food allergies too? Never thought Kale could be a bad thing. Tamara

    • Tamara, Yes…apparently I have the type of allergies to these foods that take up to five days to manifest, and result because of proteins of those foods getting into my blood from leaky holes in my intestinal walls (which shouldn’t be there). It’s called Leaky Gut Syndrome. Lindsey

      • florasforum says:

        Sorry to hear about your health issue but glad to hear you’re getting help. I heard about this syndrome in the film “Genetic Roulette”–a film about GMOs and their terrible health hazards. The experts indicated that getting rid of GMOs, which are in almost everything that’s processed and non-organic (containing soy, corn, and beet sugar, which most of our “sugar” is made from now) was the answer.

  5. rselder@comcast.net says:

    Bless your heart, Lindsey! What a great post!! Many folks are or will be doing just the same trials as yourself. You’ll get through it. And getting wholeness back will be your blessing too. (Some of them will probably come back to you as you reintroduce.) Thanks for such a powerful blog!

    Becky

Leave a Reply

