My Butt Bones Hurt.

I’ve been running lately.  I’m not training for any races or marathons or anything, I’m just training for more energy.

But, as a side effect, I do believe I’m losing weight.

To be clear, I did not set out to lose weight.  Weight loss was a possible side effect, but, This this is how it all went down:

I used to be tired a lot of the time.  Tired from nothing. So tired that it was challenging to even get out of bed.  Not depressed tired though.  (Citalopram helped me solve that problem.)  I would go through two or three day spurts of hardly being able to function. I remember the last one, I went on a short walk to see if a little exercise would boost my energy.  That day, I didn’t know if I would be able to make it home or if I’d have to lie down and take a nap among the cactus and yucca.  I traipsed through half the walk with my eyes closed.  My arms felt like dead weights.  My cheek muscles couldn’t lift the corners of my mouth to even make a smile.

So, I went to the doctor.  Again.  Over the past many years, I’ve been told I needed vitamin B shots, I needed to stop drinking caffeine, wear an estrogen patch, stop eating sugar, start exercising regularly, eat only protein-not carbs-for breakfast and lunch, have my thyroid tested (did that.  it’s normal.), have ultrasounds (did that.  normal too.), drink vitamin C.

This most recent visit, the final results of the final rounds of testing was that maybe it was hormonal, maybe I was lacking in testosterone.

Lacking in testosterone.

I’m listening.

My doctor, who is a great doctor, said, “We can try putting you on a very low dose of testosterone…it will be very low because we don’t want you to grow hair (mind picture: gorilla) or get a low voice (mind picture:  me returning messages with a man’s voice, “Hi, this is Lindsey, The Goat Cheese Lady…”).  I think it may help you get more energy.”

Let me think about that for a minute…..No.

Well, maybe.

But only if exercise doesn’t work.

Thus, three months ago, I commenced the every-weekday-from 8-9am-is-my-exercise-time program.

Yoga on YouTube, run, walk, bike, shovel manure, whatever would get my heart beating or my limbs stretching.

Now, proceed to last weekend.  The Animal Whisperer and I happened upon Scott Dinsmore on TedxTalks.  He was motivational and talked about expanding your impossible.  Whatever you think is impossible really isn’t.  You can do it.

I had been running two of the five weekdays…granted, I had gotten better than the 2 miles I ran back in August…I was running 4 miles one day and 6 miles the other day, and filling the other days with yoga or walking or manure shoveling.

It seemed impossible for me to run every single day, Monday through Friday.  That was my impossible.  The other impossible was running 6 miles in one hour.  The fastest I had run it was in one hour and six minutes.

Sunday night, I set in my mind that I would run every single day this week:  2 miles Monday, 4 miles Tuesday, 6 miles Wednesday, 4 miles Thursday and 2 miles Friday (today).

And I Did It.

Monday, no problem.

Tuesday, no problem.

Wednesday, I got the harebrained idea that I’d aim for the 60 minute 6 miles.  But the back of my mind was telling me, “Ya, right.  That means cutting one minute off of each mile, you idiot.”  And in the front of my mind, I was hearing Rascal Flatts singing to me (with only the benefit of my imagination, no ear buds) “Don’t give up, don’t give in, You can do what you think is impossibu-ul”.  So, guess what?  I did it.  Right when I looked at my phone after sprinting as fast as a person can who has just run 5.99 miles, I watched it flip over to:

6.0 miles.  1.00 hours.

Nice.

Thursday, sucked.  Still having to run 4 miles after running 6 miles the day before really did not take the cake.  I thought my legs might fall out of my hip joints before I even got back home.  And that would have been just a mess.  I could feel things rattling all over inside of me.  No record breaking, but, I made it.

Friday, (today) EASY PEASY!!!  Two miles.  Bam.  Done.  Did it.

My impossibles.  1.  Ran lots of miles every day this week.  2.  Ran 6 miles in 60 minutes!

And, thank you very much, I don’t plan on doing it again very soon.

It was really hard.  Really, really hard.  I’m proud of myself for sure, but not so much that I think I need to do it again this week.

And, that brings us full circle to why my butt bones hurt.

As I mentioned above, I am training for more energy.  NOT to lose weight.  Although, it is a nice side effect that the waist band of my pants is no longer cutting off the circulation to my brain.

Some may consider the other side effect a benefit as well:  I am pretty sure I am losing fat in my butt.

But, “Not I”, said the fly.  I, for one, do not consider that a benefit.  Because now it hurts to sit.  The bones in my butt ache all the time because there is not enough padding to cushion them.

Just a few days ago, I heard a funny thing.  The friend of a friend told my friend that she (the friend’s friend) was going to have fat from her butt put in her face because the injections she had been getting for $500 a whack only last 6 months and butt fat injected into your face lasts forever.  It just make me wonder if your face stinks every time you fart.

But for me, I will not have any butt fat put anywhere.  I will keep it where it belongs.  And if this doing what you think is impossible business is going to make all the fat go out of my butt so I can’t sit and my pants fall off, I may need to look into some other impossibles.

Good talking to you, and I hope you are well.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Training for more energy is working.  Good thing.  No testosterone.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, funny stories, good people to know and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Butt Bones Hurt.

  1. Brenda Thomas says:

    Great hearing, what you have been going through… I have been battling the fatigue model but have increase my exercise, playing with my little herd of babies (Nubians). And started taking Plexus which seems to help & feeling better.

    Talk to you, soon And I will getting with you in the spring for more classes.

    Take Care & Happy Holidays!

    Brenda

  2. Bonnie says:

    Great job! You really can do things you think are impossible.

    As a side note, we struggle with these sorts of things at CrossFit too. It’s fabulous to be able to do pull-ups, but our arms get bigger. Once I put on an old button down shirt and couldn’t get it off again!

    Join us sometime. It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

