Thank You Seems Insufficient

But they are the only words I can say.  To ALL of you who have worked so hard to save not only our lives and homes, but also our community.

Thank You Fire Fighters! 

Thanks to all of you, my family and I moved home yesterday after a week of evacuation.  We slept in our own beds.  I had my first warm shower in over a week.  We moved the goats home last night from their evacuation site at Venetucci Farm.  We moved the chickens and the dogs and the rabbits home from their evacuation site at Pinello Ranch.  I got to cuddle with my kids on our couch this morning.  We are home.  We have a home.  Thank you.

You saved my parent’s neighborhood.

You saved Aunt Audrey and Uncle Randy’s house.

You are ALL amazing, and I’m fortunate to know some of you.  Tim, Marvin and Travis, thank you for everything you have done to protect people, homes and communities.  I am in awe of your strength, passion, determination and dedication.

A sign hung at the intersection of Fontanero and 31st Streets.

Thank you to the police, sheriff and National Guard:  My policeman friend Vern has spent long hours away from his wife and daughter to keep so many other people safe during the fire.

Thank you to all of the Colorado Springs Utilities employees for working long hours to help people get safely back into their homes.  Our friend Sandy, an environmental scientist for the Utilities, has been testing hundreds of water samples to ensure that the fire affected water is safe for all of the people who are going to drink it.

Thank you KRDO radio.  Many times, our only source of information was on the radio.  105.5 fm and 1240 am were our lifelines.

Thank you Rich Harvey and Jerri Marr.  You have earned the respect and adoration of an entire community.  Thank you for communicating the status of the fire with us so clearly and effectively. 

Thank you.  Thank you.  Thank you.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, good people to know, Waldo Canyon Fire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank You Seems Insufficient

  1. Lori says:

    SO glad to hear that all is well, at least with your family. Still praying for others not as fortunate.

  2. Shawni says:

    I am so glad everyone is ok. What a blessing to be back home. I know the community has a lot of healing to do and I am said that our hometown community lost so much.

Leave a Reply

