The White Buffalo

 

A herd of buffalo. 

A fairly common sight driving through South Park in Colorado…on the way to skiing in the mountains.  Not nearly as common as seeing herds of cows, and much more nostalgic…definitely something to wake the kids up to see.  But still, common enough to see them once every 4 or 5 times we drive through.

This, however, is not.

I felt like it must have been a good omen, a blessing.  Seeing a white buffalo must be rare, I reasoned, as every other buffalo I had seen in my life was brown.  Buffalo Brown.  But never Buffalo White.

None of the other buffalo stopped to look at me (gawking with my phone camera at the fence on the side of the highway). 

But this one did.

It was awe inspiring.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady 

 

 

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, good people to know and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The White Buffalo

  1. Rachel says:

    That is absolutely AWESOME! And very rare…

  2. Melina says:

    Cool!

  3. Cindy says:

    What fun! You are blessed. And so are we in your sharing of it :-)

  4. Ann Cott says:

    Yes, White Buffalo are considered sacred by the Native Americans and for you to have that experience of seeing one is very special indeed.

  5. Shannon says:

    “The White Buffalo are sacred to many Native Americans…The legend of the White Buffalo Calf Woman tells how the People had lost the ability to communicate with the Creator. The Creator sent the sacred White Buffalo Calf Woman to teach the People how to pray with the Pipe. With that Pipe, seven sacred ceremonies were given for the people to abide in order to ensure a future with harmony, peace, and balance.” What a beautiful site you saw!! :)

Leave a Reply

