Recipe: Honey Fig Ricotta

Ricotta is a lot like ice cream. 

WHAT??? 

Yes.

When it is drizzled with honey and speckled with sliced figs, it actually ranks up there with ice cream.  OK, you might need to be a cheese loving adult to appreciate this idea. 

Kids would maybe prefer ice cream…but adults, who happen to be cheese lovers, or maybe even adults who aren’t cheese lovers…might say this compares to the deliciousness of ice cream.

Or, maybe that’s just me.

First, take some ricotta that is dry enough to be the consistency of butter.  I make my own ricotta out of mozzarella whey and fresh goat milk.  I hope you can do that too, because it is SOOOOO different from store-bought ricotta AND it is so much better!!!!!  But, if you have to get store-bought ricotta, that’s probably OK too.  I haven’t made this recipe with it though.

(Tip:…if your store-bought ricotta is too runny, pour it into a coffee filter and let they whey drain off for about 5 hours…more or less depending on how fast it drains…to get the butter-like consistency.) 

Next, drizzle the scoops of ricotta with…

a.  local, raw honey (my first choice)

b.  organic agave nectar (I didn’t have honey, so this is what I used.) 

Finally, garnish with…

a.  fresh figs (my first choice, but out of season right now) 

b.  dried figs (I used dried Turkish figs, the only kind at my locally owned natural foods store)

And, voila.  Fini.  It tastes, to people who love cheese, better than ice cream.

Have a great weekend!!

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Honey Fig Ricotta

  1. maureen says:

    but you don’t freeze it, right?

  2. Marsha Lee says:

    This actually DOES sound better than ice cream! Thanks, Aunt Marsh

Leave a Reply

