Look What The Dog Dragged In.

This is Montana.  (The n should have that little curly Spanish thing over it to show you that it’s pronounced Montanya.)  He’s our 1-year-old horse mixed with St. Bernard and Anatolian Shepard.

And, because we have no physical fences or electric underground fences to keep him in, he wanders the neighborhood.  Unfortunately.

Every day, he brings home something new.  Unfortunately.

Most times they are harmless items.  But never do they originate from anything we’ve ever owned.  I never bought this.  I’m sorry for the dog whose owner did buy it. 

No telling where this came from, there are lots of sticks around, but this stick wasn’t here yesterday.

We’ve had antlers, bones, skulls, even an elk hoof with the leg bone still attached. 

But, this, was a first. 

About two weeks ago, the coyotes were howling and celebrating and chattering down in the neighbor’s horse field.  The next day, a bloody leg bone was laid right in the stairway trail down to the barn.  I figured they had killed a deer and left a leg bone for Montana.

Two days ago, what was once attached to the leg showed up.

I don’t dare to guess what he’ll bring home next time.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

