Craig Coffey Was Here

Craig, the Fox TV guy, and Mike, the camera guy, showed up right on time. 

15 minutes early.

Just in time for me to have no makeup on, not have my hair done, and not have my prescreened-by-various-family-members TV outfit on.  (I did have clothes on.  Just not the right clothes.) 

Aaaaaaaahhhhhh, weeellllllllllll…such is life.

No problem asking them to wait while I quick wiped off the table, quick did 14 other things and quick put on my makeup, braided my hair and put on the outfit.

And, whirled into the room to “get miked.”  Not to be confused with to “get milked.”  Just needed to clear that up.

Have I ever mentioned that I don’t watch TV?  We don’t have cable.  We don’t have a converter box.  We have a really old TV.  And, although I used to be an ardent fan of Good Morning America, I actually haven’t watched a morning show in approximately 7 years.

Which might be why I had no idea what this filming would be like. 

Well, it was like this:

1.  Smile.  Talk loud.

2.  Don’t look at the camera.

3.  Try to remember to sit up or stand up straight (which I think I forgot the whole time).

4.  Do the behind the scenes “segment” planning, where Craig tells me what he wants to do in the segment, then we do the segment. 

5.  We pretend like it’s Live TV.  Mike films him milking, and laughing and talking and me attempting to say something coherent.  The moment of which I’m most proud was when, during the milking segment, he said, “Well, Lindsey, do you have anything else you want to say?”  And I promptly….couldn’t think of anything.  It was that period of dead silence I don’t think you’re supposed to have on TV.   

6.  Get the whole thing done in 3 minutes. 

Thank goodness the little boy goat didn’t get his horns stuck in the feeder DURING the filming…watching me let go of Lucy’s legs, grab the milk pot out from under Lucy and throw it into Craig’s lap, “HERE.  HOLD THIS!!” and sprint up to the goat pen to find Dinner stuck in the feeder and screaming his lights out, would have been a little too much reality TV.

Segment 2 and 3 were in the house.  Strain the milk, start the chevre and mozzarella.  Then, finish and taste the chevre.

It’s too hard to squeeze a 30 minute mozzarella process into 3 minutes, so we didn’t do it for TV.  But, I’ll work on that.  I may need to do it for Good Morning America.  Did I mention they haven’t called yet?  The Today show may just beat them to it.  I’m expecting Matt Lauer’s call any time in the next 5 years.  We’ll see.

After 1 hour and 45 minutes of actual time and 9ish minutes of filmed time, they left.  I forced them to take chevre, mozzarella and bread with them to share with everyone at work. 

And then I went in the house to collapse.  That was the fasted cheese making I’ve ever done.

But I couldn’t.  Had to go get the preschooler and then go to the park to cheer on my Mom, Art and Steve, who were 41 miles into their 100 mile bike ride.

Starting their ride at 7:30am

I won’t reveal their true ages.  But, let it be known that I am 36 and wouldn’t dare ride my bike for 100 miles.  THEY are all under 70.  And, are riding their bikes around Colorado Springs for about 10 hours and 100 miles today.  It was on Mom’s Dream List.  Now that’s a good role model.

For now, I’ll let her stick with the 100 mile ride.  I’ll stick with “Craig Coffey In The Morning” on the Fox Morning News. 

And, on to Good Morning America.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  It’s on Channel 3 and 21 from 5-9 tomorrow morning.  A 3 minute segment every 45 minutes to an hour.  That’s when you’ll see me.  (Oh, dear.  That’s when I’ll see me.) 

P.P.S.  And, remember, check out my skin.  I’ll need to know what you think of the food on my face treatment.

P.P.P.S.  If you don’t see it tomorrow, Craig said it’ll be on his website starting Wednesday or Thursday.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, funny stories, good people to know and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

