Recipe of the Day: #9

Over the winter, people told me how great roasted beets and goat cheese are. 

I, back then, when I didn’t even know what “foodie” meant, had never eaten and had no idea how to make, roasted beets.

Now.  I’m addicted. 

Roasted Beets

I can definitely report that I’m not a professional roasted beet maker, as you can observe from the fact that the water burned out of the pan, below…but, it’s not that you need to be a professional.  It’s pretty easy.

First, get some beets.  Cut off the greens (but keep them.)  Wash the beets, especially the part where the greens hooked to the beets.  Lots of little rocks hide in there.  Then, put them in a baking dish.  Fill the dish with about 1 inch of water.  Cover the dish.

Second, bake them for 45 minutes on 350.  Check every so often to make sure there is still water in the pan.  That is the part I forgot.

See?  Evaporated beet juice gives a nice…and thankfully easy to clean…pinkish reddish tint to the bottom of the pan.  After you stick a fork in one of the biggest beets and determine it is tender, take the pan out of the oven and let the beets cool.

Then, the skin will peel off very easily.  And, it’s best to pinch just below the base of the stem connection and pinch off that part that traps rocks.  Ask me how I know.  I didn’t do that the first time and we chewed a bit of the garden as well.

This beet was not peeled or pinched, therefore the tiny rocks in the teeth, but I just wasn’t patient enough for them to cool.  It’s a new weakness I’ve developed since learning how to make roasted beets.

I put them with some freshly made goat ricotta.  And ate them all up.  Unfortunately, I had to share.

My 7-year-old loves them!  Just put the leftovers in the fridge to eat cold later.  If there are any.

Health Warning:  You will have pinkish pee and purplish poop the next day.  I thought it was internal bleeding.  It wasn’t.  Just thought I’d save you from the stress of thinking you might die in the next couple days.

Anyhoooo…let me know what you do with roasted beets!  Just comment below!

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, gardening, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe of the Day: #9

  1. Ginger says:

    I do love my roasted beets with just butter but, balsamic dressing is great on them also. You could add them to mashed potatoes to get not only a beautiful color but to add nutrients to the fluff.
    I like to harvest my greens through the whole growing season to add to my salad pickings. Picking a leaf here and there never taking them all and still end up with nice beets come harvest time. This year I even ate carrot and radish greens! Radish only when very young because of the prickles.

  2. Marilan says:

    Pickled beets. Boil til tender20-30 min, plunge into ice water, skin will slough off, reserving all water and skins, rocky tops and taproots. Slice large ones or use small ones whole. Pack into hot jars and pour on brine. Oh make brine in advance keep warm. Using 2qts of beets, 1 cup org sugar, 1 3/4 cup vinegar either works, 4 cups water, 2 tsp. allspice, 2 cinnamon sticks broken, 1 tsp salt. Bring to boil simmer 10 min. Make sure to get allspice and a cinnamon stick in each jar with syrup, makes 4 pints. Cook in a water bath 38 minutes for our altitude. Eat cold if you can wait that long. YUMMM! Give reserved water, skins and any extra brine to goats, thus purple beards on my Alpines. If no extra brine I toss in some vinegar and sugar for treat. Some of mine love it, ultimate recycling. No waste.

Leave a Reply

