Recipe of the Day: #3

Ricotta Stuffed Pumpkin Blossoms

I promised a new recipe every day, and I intend to deliver.  It is still day #3.  There are still 33 minutes left in day #3.  And, even though you probably already went to bed and won’t get this until day #4, it is still officially from day #3.  I wouldn’t want you to think I didn’t follow through on my end of the deal.  Just so you know. 

And, speaking of deals, I’ve been thinking.  What if you cook these recipes and I never find out how you liked them?  Or what you changed to make them better?  Or what you will do next time?  It would be like I’m posting recipes into oblivion. 

So, to avoid my heartache, I think you should have your end of the deal too.  If you’re not open to this idea, please turn off your computer now.  If you are, please read on.

How ’bout every time you try one of these recipes, you write in the comment section anything about it that you want!  That way, we can all learn from each other!  You would make my day if you’d do that!

In advance, Thank You.

And, without further adieu…

Start with newly cut this morning’s or yesterday morning’s pumpkin (or any kind of squash) blossoms.  If you cut them when they are open in the morning, the are easier to work with (top left).  If you cut yesterday’s blossoms (top right), they will be wilted, but you can still use them.  While you’re in the garden, gather up some herbs to season the ricotta.  I brought up lemon balm, rosemary and sage.

Rinse the blossoms off in cool water.  Make sure you check inside the blossoms for any stowaway bugs that have taken up residence.  Then set them aside on another plate.  (Not the bugs.  The flowers.)  Don’t try to dry them.  Drying the inside of a flower is impossible unless you’re Mother Nature. 

I am not.  Just in case anyone was wondering.

Prepare your ricotta mixture.  This is fresh goat’s milk/whey ricotta.  (It is TO DIE FOR.)  Stir in as many herbs as you want.  I should have used more that this.  And, add salt to taste.

Use tweezers or your fingers to remove the piece in the middle of the blossom.  If you use your fingers, you risk tearing the blossom, but not to worry, it is not the end of the world.  Notice that the blossom is still wet from washing…this is important.

Put the ricotta filling inside a small plastic baggie.  Smoosh it all down to one corner, then twist the baggie above the wad of cheese so it stays tight in the corner.  Cut off the tip of the corner so you have a frosting-like bag.  Squeeze the filling into the blossom.

Now is where the little bit of wetness on the blossoms is important.  Pour cornmeal on a plate.  Roll the now-sort-of-closed blossom in the cornmeal.  If your blossom is dry, the cornmeal won’t stick.  But make sure it’s also not dripping wet, or you risk injury in the next step.

Put the blossoms into a pan filled with about 1/2 inch to 1 inch of the hot oil of your choice.  I like olive oil.  Grape seed oil is really good also, it makes the outside a little crispier.  When they are brown and seemingly crispy on the bottom, carefully flip them with tongs and brown them on the other side. 

**Safety note:  If your blossom is still really wet when you put it in, the oil will splatter a lot.  You might jump away from the oven and scream.  Like I did.  Even the little bit of water that is holding on the corn meal will make it splatter a little bit, so I think you should arm yourself with a shield of some sort.  A big soup pan lid or one of those oil splatter cover things.  Just protect yourself and make sure your kids are not near you.  I would really prefer to get only non-injury comments below.  Thank you kindly.

Let them cool about 5 minutes before eating, then, see if you can avoid eating them all before anyone else grabs them!

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks Greg for telling me to fill the blossoms with the frosting bag approach.  I was getting a little tired of trying to spoon the filling into the flowers without tearing them and getting cheese all over the place!

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recipe of the Day: #3

  1. Eileen Healy says:

    I pan-roasted a few cloves of garlic, and added rosemary, oregano and thyme to the ricotta. I used medium-grind cornmeal, which was a little too crunchy–I would get fine-grind next time. They were delicious! Thanks for the recipe–it’s a lot simpler than I thought, and was a big hit.

  2. Eileen Healy says:

    Lindsey, I was just wishing I knew how to make squash blossoms, now I’ve got the recipe, and the photos help a lot! I’ll let you know how it turns out–don’t have any goat milk ricotta left, though :(

  3. Melina says:

    Haven’t tried this yet, but I saw this tip on a cooking show a couple of days ago. Don’t ask who, I can’t remember. Anyway, they tucked the ends of the blossom back inside, making the end look a bit like an “inny” belly button. That way, the filling won’t want to escape and you have a tidy, self-contained unit. I’m assuming the filling will hold the ends of the petals in place. I’ve gotta try your recipes!

Leave a Reply

