Strawberries and Whipped Cream

The only challenge about this is that to make whipped cream from goat’s milk cream, you need patience.  And I mean it.

I don’t have a separator and since goat’s milk is naturally homogenized, it gets only about 1/8 to 1/4 inch of cream at the top.  Not exactly enough to make a batch of whipped cream.

Herein lies the requirement for patience.

From each jar of milk that you have in your fridge, skim the speck of cream off the top.  Put it in a container and freeze it.  After about a week or two, you’ll have enough cream to whip into whipped cream!  Blend it on high and add sugar and vanilla to taste.  Eat it plain.  Put it on fruit.  Put it on pie.  Did I mention, Eat it plain?  Tell yourself that you milked it from your own goats, so the bazillion fat molecules it contains must be very good for you.

For sure, you can’t be craving whipped cream today and have it today.  You have to change your mindset.

i.e.  Skim cream every day.  Put in same container in freezer.  When you get a lot of frozen cream, decide if you want to make butter or whipped cream.  Thaw it.  Make it.  Let it be a surprise when you get there. 

This is a little different from the instant-gratification-go-to-the-supermarket-when-you-crave-it kind of recipe.

So, good luck waiting it out.  If you can make it, IT’S TOTALLY WORTH IT!

Eat it all in one sitting.  Definitely.

The only thing better will be when the strawberries are from my own garden.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life, Milking, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Strawberries and Whipped Cream

  1. Lynn Shields says:

    I saved up my goat cream (just as you so humorously did) and have never done anything with it . . . until today. Am wanting to whip it for the pumpkin pies I’ll also be making! But, lo and behold, I read online that you canNOT freeze cream and then have ANY success with whipping it later. (Almost went into a blind panic over that!) Anyway, I put my glass bowl and beaters in the freezer and will attempt to make normal whipped-cream later. Just want to say “Merry Christmas” and thank you so much for the encouragement, Goat Cheese Lady : )

  2. marilan says:

    Or that I am not a patient person.

  3. marilan says:

    The strawberry plants arrived yesterday and I have not yet had Gary drill the needed holes in either of my counters or out in the canning kitchen to mount the separator. Wow you freeze it? I could do lots and freeze it? Hmmm! You could tooooo…..I am getting 2 gallons a day from Firefly, Jewel and a dab from Oreo to keep her soft. Jewels is really creamy too. Did I mention I have a separator ;-)

Leave a Reply

