Popcorn.

It is a shame that I had to be taught how to make popcorn. 

Real popcorn, I mean. 

You’d think that would be knowledge that our foremothers would have taught us.  Many nights, Ma and Pa eat it in bed in their little house in Walnut Grove, and I have often wondered…how did they do that without an air popper or a microwave?  I figured popcorn could be healthy, and I figured to get it healthy required some special appliance, one to add to my collection of special appliances.  Vitamix (the best thing ever and worth every penny), the Kitchenaide Mixer (pretty handy to have around.  Ask for it for your wedding.), the NutriMill grain mill (makes good flour, but despite what they say, WAY louder than a vacuum), the Food Saver vacuum packer machine (money eater, have you seen the price of those bags?), the Microwave (most likely my generation will begin dropping dead from some currently unknown microwave induced illness, but I continue to use it). 

I have gone through the small appliance section of many a department store, eyeballing the popcorn machines, but I really don’t want another appliance, so succumb to buying (embarrassing to admit) microwave popcorn.  Embarrassing because of all the nasty stuff on the label.  Now, I eat my fair share of nasty stuff on labels, Thin Mint girl scout cookies and chocolate chips probably have a few undecipherable ingredients, and I’m perfectly willing to eat those, but Microwave Popcorn is one of those things that I want to kick myself for every time I stick a flat bag in the microwave and pull a foul smelling, steam burning, puff ball out.  My kids love it.  That’s another problem.  I bought the Costco size box over a year ago and am finally down to about 3 more bags, after the use of which, I swear to never buy again. 

Therefore, it’s good timing that Amy and Brian (Just Cheese Class students) explained to me how to make Ma and Pa’s version. 

Healthy.

Simple.

Addicting.

Put a thin layer of oil covering the bottom of a pan on medium high heat.  Put two kernels in the pan. 

When those pop,

add the rest of the popcorn. 

I put in a half cup. 

Cover the pan to prevent flying kernels and spraying oil.  Keep cooking and shaking every so often until the kernels are mostly done popping.

That’s how much comes from half a cup.

Put in a bowl, and salt.

Stand in awe as your children devour it. 

Feel the liberation from microwave popcorn.

Vow to make popcorn for your family every single day of the year.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks to spell check, I have now learned that it is kernel, not kernal.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Popcorn.

  1. Ginger says:

    Now add some twin lab nutritional yeast on top and you really have a healthy tasty snack. May take a bit of getting used to but then you crave the taste!

Leave a Reply

