Today: -9 degrees. Wind chill: Worse.

1.  The coldest day I can remember in my 6-year-old’s life.  School cancelled.

2.  The coldest day for sure in my 3-year-old’s life.  Preschool cancelled.

3.  The goats survived the night.  I said a small prayer before I left the house to milk, that I would not find anyone frozen.  They were fine.  Although Lucy was shivering when I milked her.

4.  I would have been actually warm in my milking outfit had I remembered to put my boots inside last night.  When I put them onto my ski-socked feet, they were also -9 degrees.  That does not lend itself to warm feet.

5.  Goats and chickens alike were nearly silent in the barn this morning.  Nobody’s vocal cords work in this weather, apparently.  That, or they’re saving all their energy to stay warm.

6.  One of the 5 eggs I brought in was cracked from being frozen solid.

7.  Small drips of water on the lid of the milking pan, left there from my washing it before going out to milk…froze within seconds of being exposed to the air of the milking room.

8.  My nose hairs froze.

9.  Jack Frost left his decorations on the insides of our remaining old, single paned windows.  My 6-year-old wondered how he got in.

10.  We spent a wonderful morning with friends…making cinnamon rolls, coffee, mozzarella, red-pepper chevre, lebne and carmelized onion frittata.  Whoa.  Scary.  Sounds like I’m becoming something similar to a good cook.

Although cold…it has been a wonderful day.

Hope your’s has too.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

P.S.  Thanks to my milking outfit photographers:  My 6-year old took the first picture.  My 3-year-old took the second.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

