Darlene’s Pizza

Darlene came to a Goat Cheese Making Class in November.  My pizza hasn’t been the same since.

She noticed the basket of month’s old tomatoes and said:  “Those are just right to make pizza sauce with!!”  I had been procrastinating making something with them, they were small, shriveled and rapidly entering the dried tomato phase.  But, they weren’t bruised at all, so they never molded.

She gave me her Italian pizza crust recipe and her Italian pizza sauce recipe. 

Whoa.  It was out of this world.

First, I made the pizza dough.

Then, I made the sauce.

Then, I cut the dough into 4 sections and rolled them out to about 1/8″ thickness.  (A couple I rolled to 1/4″ and they didn’t taste as good).  Thinner is better. 

This dough is the easiest pizza dough I’ve ever worked with!!  It doesn’t shrink back to each time you roll it, like all the other recipes I’ve used.  It simply stays where you put it.  It’s awesome.

Just look at that cheese.  Absolutely delicious.  Mouth watering. 

I had some mozzarella left over from an overheated batch that never stretched, and thus was named:  Mozzarella spread.

I spread it on the raw dough, then poured the pureed sauce on top.

I didn’t have any meat to put on it, or anything else for that matter, so I cooked it just like that.

Tomatoes and cheese.

It was amazing!  All of my boys liked it!  And, that’s a rare thing.

Thanks, Darlene. 

-  The Goat Cheese Lady

Recipe:

Darlene’s Dough:

3 1/4 c flour (I used freshly ground whole wheat)

250 ml tepid water

4 tsp active dry yeast

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

Mix yeast and water.  Then add all other ingredients.  Mix in a Kitchen Aid mixer for 5 minutes, adding extra flour if needed so it doesn’t stick.  Cover with saran wrap or a moistened cloth towel.  Let rise in warm area for 45 min to 2 hours.  Cut into quarters.  Roll out in flour.

Darlene’s Sauce:

1 can petite diced or crushed tomatoes, or your own shriveled tomatoes.

1/4 cup olive oil 

2 cloves of garlic (chopped)

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano

Saute garlic in olive oil.  Add all other ingredients.  Cook for a short bit.  Puree if you wish.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Bread Making, Cheese Making, Farm Life, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

