Things That Happened For Christmas

Here are some highlights:

I gave some special people these gifts…plus some garlic herb goat cheese.  (It was in the fridge and missed the picture.)

My 3-year-old and his gingerbread house.  Note his organizational skills with the bears lined up on the house.  That one fell off and caused a big meltdown.  I had already washed away the Royal Icing we had used, and superglue isn’t edible, so I came the rescue with some sugar cookie frosting and glued the red guard bear back up. 

My 3-year-old may become sort of Type A. 

Probably my six-year-old won’t.  The red frosting can exploded.  At least it seems like it.  He was very proud that his had 2 stories.

And here is the oddest Christmas cookie of the bunch.  My six-year-old named his creation the Christmas Mouse.

Here is just before he was clothed in multicolored frosting.

And, here is when he was created.

And, here is a Christmas gift from my parents…to me.  I believe I’ve rarely gotten so excited over a Christmas gift, and certainly not one that is used to butcher chickens.

See that groove thing?  Yes, that’s for cutting bones.  YES!  Now that I am a 3 time butcherer, I know about things like dull knives and bones.

I dare say I’m excited to butcher a chicken again. 

Another Christmas gift to my sister and me from my parents.  My dad’s contribution was that he helped push this rack out of the laundry room for grand entry.  My mom’s contribution was that she MADE all of these dresses for us to wear each Christmas as we were growing up.  The early dresses look oddly like something Laura Ingalls might have worn.  And it was only the (19) 70′s. 

OK, 2 things about that: 

1.  The light pink dresses she didn’t make, someone else did for a wedding we were in. 

2.  They aren’t all dresses.  Two are pants.  Those were the years my sister showed her individuality and requested pant(suits).  Note the most visible pantsuit…red with black paisley.   Let me tell you, she looked stunning.  (No sarcasm intended.)  OK, ya it was.

And, perhaps the most highly rated Christmas gift of all.  From us to our boys.

They named him, Shadow.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady.

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

